Juggling Christmas

22 Dec

Warning…lots of reading and not a lot of pictures ahead…

When my brother and I were young we always had the traditional Christmas morning: get up way to early, check out what Santa left under the tree, and joyously open our gifts with our parents. When we were teenagers, my family began opening gifts on Christmas Eve, possibly going to midnight mass, and then sleeping in on Christmas morning. Our little family has always celebrated Christmas Eve at my parents.

Fast forward many years, a couple weddings, and a few babies.

Here is Christmas Eve 2010:

Christmas2010

As our family grows, it is hard to continue with the same Christmas Traditions we had many years ago. I love spending time with my parents, brother, and his family on Christmas Eve…as does Kevin! Kevin’s brother and sister-in-law have Christmas Eve every year, and Kevin does his best to attend every year also.

So what do you do…one night and two parties to go to?

Kevin and I are lucky that all of our immediate family are within about 30-40 miles of our house, but it is really hard to juggle schedules without hurting feelings or missing the holiday fun. What makes things even more difficult is Kevin may have to work on any given holiday. This year he is scheduled to work on Christmas =(

Our solution for this holiday season was to celebrate Thanksgiving dinner at my brother’s house, Christmas Eve at his brother’s house (but unfortunately Kevin’s mother works so they won’t get to see each other for Christmas), and I will head to my parents alone on Christmas day. This will be the first year my mom doesn’t cook a yummy dinner on Christmas Eve, but thankfully I can still see everyone on Christmas day. I am glad we were able to figure it out without too many issues (I think). Next year may be a different story…

Does anyone else out there have trouble juggling holiday parties? I can’t imagine how difficult this will be when we actually have kids! I am sure there are some of you out there with more than 2 parties to go to. How do you do it without upsetting any family members?

9 Responses to “Juggling Christmas”

  1. Brandi @ His Shabby Her Chic December 22, 2011 at 8:35 am #

    Christmas is definitely difficult! Ever year I watch friends bounce from house to house to house. I’m not sure how they do it! I guess that’s both the good and bad thing of being from the same area.

    My Kevin and I won’t be spending Christmas together at all this year. His family celebrates in Richmond and my sisters are coming to PA.

    Good luck with the shuffling around! It will lead to a good nap on Monday!

  2. Laura December 22, 2011 at 9:13 am #

    Both my husband and I come from split families. My parents remarried when I was young so my side has four sides and quite a few get-togethers! David has two sides. Luckily our families are great to work with. They know we have a lot of people to see and most are flexible!! We have one party Friday night, Christmas Eve Breakfast, Christmas Eve Dinner, Christmas Eve church, Christmas Church, TWO Christmas Lunches, Christmas Dinner and one that has not yet been scheduled! I know what you mean about shuffling around! And with kids… I don’t know how we are going to do it! But I am fortunate that we have all of our family close and are able to see everyone- even if it is for just a short time!

  3. Regan @ RenovatingRothenbergers December 22, 2011 at 10:07 am #

    The holiday shuffle between families is tough. Justin & I live about 2 hours from our families. . . so this year we are spending Christmas Eve together just the two of us (can’t wait!), we are going to my mom’s on Christmas after church, then we are spending the night at his parents and doing Christmas with his family on Monday. It’s definitely tricky to try to fit everyone in, that’s why Justin & I just say we’ll our best. We don’t always see everyone because we prioritize spending time with just each other first.

    I hope two have a very Merry Christmas!! 🙂 🙂

  4. littlehousebigheart December 22, 2011 at 12:29 pm #

    Somehow living so far from our families makes everything easier for Kevin and I. For the past several years we’ve flown (or driven) to Indiana and spent Christmas with my family, then went south to spend New Years with Kevin’s family in Tampa. It’s a lot of traveling for us, but since our families are gracious enough to live with our arrangement, we really don’t mind. Once we have kids things will probably change a little, but for now it works for us.

  5. Diana @ Boy + Girl December 22, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

    The boy and I usually split up for the holidays. I go to my parents and he goes to his. This is the first year that he will be joining me. We will spend Christmas Eve and Day with my family and then the 26th and 27th with his. There is a three hour drive between them so not too bad. Luckily we both have 10 days off! Our families are all very flexible and understanading – thank goodness.
    -Diana

  6. Krystle @ Color Transformed Family December 22, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

    This year we are just staying at our house. In the past we have visited both sets of parents and 2-3 grandparents houses. We lived seeing everyone but it wore us out and really took the focus off of the true meaning of Christmas. We are looking forward to starting our own traditions this year.
    Hope you have a wonderful Christmas!

  7. Ashley@AttemptsAtDomestication December 22, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    We are lucky, and cursed, because our families live so close and feelings WILL be hurt if we cant go to each one. Growing up I had 4 Christmases – one at home in the morning, afternoon at my stepdad’s side, evening with my mom’s side and about a week later with my bio-dad’s side. Jesse just had 1 with his small family (mom and sister) on the day of, at home, with no schedule. This year we are doing Christmas Eve with his family, Christmas morning is just the 2 of us, after noon my step-dad’s fam. and evening with my mom’s fam. I had to disappoint my mom and tell her we’d see her at both the grandparents’ instead of going to her house too. We probably wont get around to seeing my bio-dad until after New Year’s…

  8. US December 22, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

    Get all of your holiday house-hopping in before you have children…infinitely more difficult! We are bouncing from house to house this year….but next year everyone is coming to us 🙂

  9. Justine December 22, 2011 at 9:57 pm #

    I can’t wait until January!

Leave a Reply

