Timber!

16 Dec

It seems like everyone is talking trees lately, so I should probably join in on the fun.  Earlier this week Kevin and I went to a tree farm and cut down our own tree.  I vaguely remember doing this many years ago with my parents, but Kevin had never done this before.  Hopefully this is going to be a new Christmas tradition for us!  Where do you get your tree?  Do most people get them at random lots on the side of the road or maybe even Home Depot?  That’s where we usually go, and I think most people in Chicago do the same.   Or do you brave the elements and cut one down at a farm?

The farm we went to was about 45 minutes from our house, and there were quite a few trees to choose from…

962_5504

We walked around a good portion of the lot in search of our first tree for the corner of Main.  We weren’t exactly sure how big was too big.  I figured as long as it wasn’t much taller than me with my arms up we would be good to go….

962_5505

I know, very precise measuring here.  (Please ignore the fact that it looks like my clothes don’t fit, I don’t usually walk around like this).

Once we found the perfect tree, Kevin got to work with the saw.

962_5510

Then we Kevin had to carry it to where the tractor could pick it up:

962_5515

Then came Santa…

962_5517

Who picked  up our tree, and met us at the check out!

962_5518

Thanks Santa!

After it was wrapped and tied, we were headed home in no time.

962_5528

After a few lights and some pretty ornaments here she is:

ChristmasFunDec14 033

Ha!  I guess my measuring technique wasn’t the most accurate.  We didn’t exactly account for the height of the star.

ChristmasFunDec14 035

It needs a little work, but we are feeling a bit lazy right now.  Maybe the this tree will get a little trim tomorrow!

Now, our other tree is good to go….

Kevin’s mom gave us this one at our wedding shower in 2010, and this is the first year we are taking it out.

ChristmasFunDec14 027

We don’t exactly have any type of “theme” on either of the trees.  I may visit some stores the day after Christmas to pick up some discounted items for next year.  I love the look of our personal hodge podge of ornaments, but I also love color coordinated trees.  What do you prefer?  Mix and match or one uniform color?  What about real or artificial?

What do you have planned for the weekend?  Kevin and I are hosting a Christmas party for a few friends on Saturday.  Hopefully we take some good pics to share next week!

7 Responses to “Timber!”

  1. Diana @ Boy + Girl December 16, 2011 at 7:22 am #

    I love the look of one or two colours on the Christmas tree. This year I’m doing all gold. Last year I did gold and chocolate brown so instead of going out and buying a completely new colour scheme (trying to save some coin) I’m reusing the gold from last year. I don’t think I would like a hodge podge tree in my own space but I find them quite charming at other people’s houses. Yours is sweet – I would leave the star as is. It gives it character!

    -Diana

  2. Regan @ RenovatingRothenbergers December 16, 2011 at 7:22 am #

    Looks like fun! We used to cut down our tree as kids, but Justin & I got ours from his family’s farm this year. Much easier and we were feeling oh so lazy. 🙂

  3. Krystle @ Color Transformed Family December 16, 2011 at 7:38 am #

    Your trees look great. Typically we are an artificial tree family. When I was younger though we had real trees until “Santa” kept knocking it over every year, spilling the water from the tree stand on to the gifts.

  4. Kala M. December 16, 2011 at 9:35 am #

    We’ve always done an artificial tree. We tried a real tree at my parent’s house one year but we couldn’t hang half of our ornaments because they were too heavy. I also have cats who get into everything so an artificial is just easier. Plus it has the lights already on it. My husband and I have a bunch of Disney ornaments we bought a couple years ago plus all of our personal ornaments from when we were children.

  5. Gabbi December 16, 2011 at 9:53 am #

    I love your method of measuring for the tree height…it gave me a little giggle when I saw it. I’m hoping we’ll be able to put our tree up this year. We have a faux , pre-lit tree, but we love it. I’m not sure if we’ll ever go the real route since our pre-lit one is so pretty and easy {boy, we sound super lazy haha}. Thanks for sharing your trees! 🙂

  6. Ashley@AttemptsAtDomestication December 16, 2011 at 10:55 am #

    Chopping down your own tree looks like so much fun! We’d love to do that next year! Great choice of tree too! It looks beautiful!

  7. Katie @ explanationrequired December 16, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

    Love your crooked star — so funny! We have artificial trees (I like being able to move the branches to fit ornaments in just right) and have always used a hodge podge of ornaments. Most everything we have is brightly colored, so it all kind of coordinates.

Leave a Reply

