Santa Came Early!

14 Dec

Santa came early, and he arrived on a Home Depot truck! Check out what he squished through the chimney:

stove 006Well, maybe it was two delivery dudes on the truck and they came through the front door, but it felt like Christmas!

stove 001

One of the first things we needed to replace in our house was the old range…we moved in 10 months ago…nothing like procrastination! The previous stove was pretty dirty, it took an eternity to heat the oven, and I almost singed my hair (and poor Kevin almost lost his eyebrows) on numerous occasions while lighting the burners.

This may be the only pic I have with the old stove in it

We went with a stainless steel LG freestanding range with a double oven. I have been wanting a double oven range since I discovered them last year. What a fabulous idea! The bottom is big enough for a large turkey (so they say) and the top is big enough for a tray of rolls or cookies. It is the perfect invention. Why heat an entire oven if you are making a small tray of stuffed peppers for two people? Yes, stuffed peppers is a totally random example, but I made some last night with our beautiful new oven and I am going to share the recipe in a second….

We purchased the stove and 2 other appliances (that I will share later) at Home Depot on Cyber Monday. I actually went into the store and got the same price as on-line. Score! We paid less than $1,000 for this range (with free delivery), and I see now that it is $1,349.10. That makes me happy. Now we need to update the rest of the kitchen (new floor, cabinets, countertops…ugh).

Until then I will enjoy cooking on our beautiful range! The first creation that came out of this bad boy was Stuffed Red Peppers.

stove 019

Because I was making this up as I went along the measurements are not exact…

Turkey and Squash stuffed Red Peppers

  • 6 red peppers (seeded and tops cut off)
  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 5 mini portabella mushrooms diced
  • 1/2 large onion (or 1 small onion I suppose) diced
  • 4 servings of cooked brown rice
  • A pinch of salt
  • 1 25.5 oz. jar of butternut squash pasta sauce (yes this is the most random ingredient ever, but I think this is what made the dish sooo good. I got a 2 pack of these at cost-co for about $7 just to try it out, and I will definitely be getting more)

sauce 003

Get cookin’:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 (this serious took no time at all!) and grease the bottom of an oven safe dish/corning ware-set aside.
  2. Cook turkey in a skillet until browned. Add onions, mushrooms, and salt. Cook until onions are soft.
  3. Mix in the brown rice.
  4. Place peppers in the dish and fill with turkey/rice mixture.
  5. Spoon most of the sauce over the peppers, replace the tops of the peppers, then add remaining sauce.
  6. Cover and cook for 40 minutes, remove and enjoy!

stove 026

I wasn’t sure how these would turn out but Kevin and I really liked them. I am a huge fan of peppers and onions. Any time I order pizza it always has green pepper and onions, and they are also pretty tasty on an omelet. Do you like stuffed peppers? What do you like on your pizza? Have you been the happy owner of an LG appliance? Or maybe even a double oven range?

Have a lovely Wednesday and enjoy these last 12 days of Christmas!

10 Responses to “Santa Came Early!”

  1. Lindsay December 14, 2011 at 6:16 am #

    The new oven is gorgeous! And the stuffed peppers look delish.

  2. Ainhoa December 14, 2011 at 6:44 am #

    Oh wow! What a great Christmas present, it looks awesome! And the recipe, delicious.

  3. Ashley @ Lewis in Love December 14, 2011 at 6:55 am #

    Oooh I love me some stainless steel! Happy cooking!

  4. Regan @ RenovatingRothenbergers December 14, 2011 at 8:06 am #

    Gorgeous! And a double oven too – amazing!! 🙂 Enjoy cooking with your new beauty!

  5. Brandi @ His Shabby Her Chic December 14, 2011 at 8:35 am #

    Love it!! I am super jealous you got one of these. My Kevin talked about getting one forever (electric…booo) but we then decided me didn’t need a new one.

    Those peppers look delish too!

  6. Jenny @ House Full of Pretty December 14, 2011 at 9:07 am #

    Oh the envy!!!! 🙂

  7. Jamie@WrightHouseAffairs December 14, 2011 at 10:32 am #

    Santa has good taste in appliances;)

  8. Diana @ Boy + Girl December 14, 2011 at 11:47 am #

    Love the stove! So exciting!

  9. Ashley@AttemptsAtDomestication December 14, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

    Love it! I’d LOVE to have a double oven some day!

  10. Erin @ His & Hers December 14, 2011 at 4:38 pm #

    Ooooh! What a great Christmas present! I haven’t eaten a stuffed pepper lately but we did have stuffed pepper soup that I enjoyed, so I might have to try one again sometime. 🙂

Leave a Reply

