Golden Girl

11 Dec

I am a covered in gold glitter, hence the title.  This reminded of the other day when the cashier at Hobby Lobby told me it’s not the holidays unless he goes home covered in glitter!  Lol, I love it.  Mission accomplished!

I have been playing with my glue gun and my glittery gold snowflakes (again).  This week’s creation is a wreath for our mantel.  I love how it turned out:

MantelDec112011 022

It’s pretty self explanatory, but here’s the details….

  • Gather your supplies:

PaintWreath 011

  • Wrap ribbon around the wreath (hot gluing the ends to the back of the wreath):

PaintWreath 012

  • Glue on snowflakes.  I found some old silver snowflakes with our Christmas ornaments and alternated them with the  gold ones to mix it up a bit:

PaintWreath 016

  • After I applied all the snowflakes, I added a glittery “Merry Christmas Ornament”  (first I cut off the ring above the “r”):

MerryChristmas

PaintWreath 018

  • Next I covered a wreath holder with gold ribbon and hung on our mantel mirror.  Merry Christmas!

MantelDec112011 005

I love how the wreath adds some sparkle to our mantel.  You can also see Kevin’s Department 56 Collection.   These little buildings are so cute.  We have a fire station (because Kevin is a fireman),

MantelDec112011 014

a New Orleans Café (because Kevin loves NOLA),

MantelTake2 005

a Tiffany Lamp shop (because Kevin loves stained glass lamps),

MantelTake2 004

an Ice Skating Rink (complete with moving ice skaters…I think this one was just cute, we are not big ice skaters!),

MantelDec112011 018

The Art Institute of Chicago  (we love Chicago),

MantelTake2 008

and a Church (this reminds me of Holy Name in Chicago)…

MantelTake2 010

And of course, a real mantel would not be complete without stockings.  Can you guess who’s is who’s?

MantelDec112011 011

No we don’t have any children….Stewie (our Jack Russell terrier mix) and Mr. Crackers (our peach faced love bird) need stockings too!  Anyone else out there have stockings for your pet?  I am sure there are a lot of dog owners who do so, but is there anything more exotic than a love bird getting gifts from Santa?

Have a great week!

Linking up with:

Dare to DIY @ Newly Woodwards

Holiday Link Party @ Centsational Girl

Live Made Lovely Monday @ Life Made Lovely

19 Responses to “Golden Girl”

  1. livinglucky December 11, 2011 at 6:39 pm #

    Such a pretty, sparkle-y wreath! Love it!!

  2. Kim@NewlyWoodwards December 11, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

    Such a great set-up. I love your wreath. It really has a nice vintage feel with the sparkle. We have a few Dept. 56 pieces, too. I love your pieces.

  3. Amanda December 11, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

    I love your wreath! I hadn’t seen a version like this one yet. Love all the glitter, and your whole mantel looks so festive!

  4. claire December 11, 2011 at 7:42 pm #

    i love it! it really looks great! nice color combo.

  5. Meredith @ Welcome to Heardmont December 11, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

    Beautiful! I love the wreath inside the circular mirror. The colors are really pretty too. 🙂

  6. Robyn December 11, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

    Love this wreath! Gold is one of the main colors of my Christmas decor, this would fit right in! I also love your Christmas village. We have one too and it holds so many memories since my son used to sit and play with it all the time when he was younger. Very well done!

  7. Grace December 11, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

    I agree – your wreath adds such a nice sparkle to your mantle. I love snowflakes (the craft ones that is) – they look so pretty on your wreath.

  8. nikkisnacs December 11, 2011 at 10:58 pm #

    You can’t go wrong with glitter and sparkles! Very pretty.

  9. Stephanie@cre8tive December 11, 2011 at 11:22 pm #

    I love the gold, silver and white! We have Christmas houses too, but don’t put them up every year. I love them though, the detail is so intriguing to stare at have a good week!

  10. Brandi @ His Shabby Her Chic December 12, 2011 at 9:38 am #

    So cute!!

    I love the Dept 56 stuff too. My cousins get pieces every year and I used to get so jealous. I might have to start a collection for myself!

  11. Regan @ RenovatingRothenbergers December 12, 2011 at 9:47 am #

    I love your wreath! I’ve never heard of the Dept 56 buildings before, but they’re sooo cute! I might have to get some 🙂

  12. Ashley@AttemptsAtDomestication December 12, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

    The wreath is gorgeous and I love the Dept. 56 buildings! My grandmother covers her living room with them! Like she has at least 50 plus people and trees and mailboxes, etc. It’s really cute.

  13. Laura Ingalls Gunn December 12, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

    Wow! You are a Christmas crafting genius! So glad I found your project via Centsational Girl.

    Please stop by for a visit to my blog. I am currently in the midst of a Gifts to Make series.

    Be Merry and Bright!

  14. Laurel@ducks in a row December 12, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

    Time for our family to get out the glitter-it does make the holidays a bit more fun! Love your wreath. Stopping by from Newlywoodwards!

  15. Shannon December 12, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

    Are they the same snowflakes you hung from your chandy? Because I totally bought some after seeing those. This wreath is fantastic, love the gold and the retro Merry Christmas!

  16. michelle@decorandthedog December 12, 2011 at 8:50 pm #

    Your wreath turned out great. I love your whole mantel!!! I like each Dept.56 piece has a story!

  17. Amy @ The Mom Hood December 13, 2011 at 5:30 am #

    Oooh, love all the sparkles! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  18. Justine December 13, 2011 at 1:12 pm #

    Your mantle looks fabulous! Very unique plan to put the wreath on the mirror it adds to the sparkle. This is your best project yet. Merry festive Christmas.

  19. Keri December 15, 2011 at 12:18 am #

    Your mantle looks great! I love the different stockings!

Leave a Reply

