No Way in Yell…ow: A Dining Room Update

7 Dec

We are really close to having a completely painted/updated dining room! Yahoo. We have done A LOT of painting over the last week (more coats than any normal person should have to apply, it was my fault, but we will get to that later). Let’s start from the beginning.

Here is a look at my favorite room of the house when we moved in (read more here):

blogJune19 032

And here is the moodboard I made about 10 months ago (the yellow on the board was not as bright on my ipad when I was creating it…so keep that in mind):

I love anything yellow and gray, so I was excited to get started on this room. First I found some fabulous green chairs at a local thrift shop and made those over with the perfect fabric (read about that here and here):

ChairsBEforeAFter

I purchased 2 Pier 1 parsons chairs for the head of the table, and made 1.5 slip covers in a coordinating fabric (I am soooo close to being done with the second one, but they are pretty time consuming to make! Read more here and here).

outdoorsAndSlipcover 099

I am still working on creating a plate gallery for the wall to the right in the above pic; just a few more plates and we should be good to go.

The next thing we did in the room was add wainscoting and chair rail. Can you see how the wall is painted two different colors (also in the above pic)? We think the previous owners were in the middle of adding chair rail also. Well, we finished the job and one up-ed them with the wainscoting. Here is a look at that going up:

IMG_7127

My dad and I started it, then Kevin finished it up…

IMG_7270

Kevin added a secret note to whoever rips the molding down one day (hopefully it will stay up forever!!)…it’s like a mini time capsule:

BlogNov27 030

After the molding went up, Kevin patched and sanded all the nail holes and we were ready to paint. The lower half of the wall, all the woodwork, and the china cabinets got a fresh coat of white paint:

BlogNov27 069

The next step is where things went south. I was convinced yellow would look nice and bright and cheery. Our kitchen is yellow (for now), and it looks okay, so I figured the dining room would also look okay. WRONG. I definitely should have gotten a sample before purchasing the most expensive Benjamin Moore paint they make (in Lemon Drop). Wowza, it was bad. I am almost embarrassed to show this, but we are all friends here, right?!

Dec4 010

I don’t think the photo fully represents the sunshiny-headache-ness of the Lemon Drop Yellow. I used to like Lemonhead candies when I was younger, but when you ate too many your tongue hurts…the room was kind of like that…

Before the paint went up Kevin strongly encouraged me to select a color other than yellow, but I was insistent on bringing on the lemon. My bad. Since I made the poor decision, I quickly went out and purchased this:

Dec4 016

Bulls Eye to the rescue! The man at Ace Hardware told me this would cover the best, and I think he may have been correct, because now the room looks something like this:

Dec4 048

Lots of white! To be really safe we put on two coats of the primer. I even found some ceiling paint left over from our bathroom update, so I gave the entire ceiling a fresh coat. I am happy to report that there are no roller marks on the ceiling…that was quite an accomplishment if you ask me. Does anyone else have problems painting ceilings? The first ceiling I painted (our master bedroom) seriously took me about 5-6 coats. I think I finally figured it out.

Now it was back to the drawing board to select the wall color…and as you may have guessed from the title of this post…No way in H-E-double hockey sticks will our dining room be yellow!

We decided on gray, so I picked up every gray Benjamin Moore sample they had at Ace:

PaintWreath 001

We narrowed it down to a few, and I even bought a couple samples (I was scared to paint the wall, so I painted a piece of paper instead)….

PaintWreath 006

We didn’t want it too dark, and not too light either, so we decided to go with…wait for it…wait for it…

{Image found here.}

Pigeon Gray by Benjamin Moore. Pigeons are gross, but apparently they inspire pretty paint colors!

PaintWreath 008

The paint has been purchased, and I already know it is going to be a million times better than the yellow. Here’s what we have left for the room:

  1. Paint gray
  2. Touch up white
  3. Empty china cabinets and paint inside
  4. Hang plate wall
  5. Finish slipcover for parsons chair
  6. Buy new window treatments (I would like custom white shutters)
  7. Find a small buffet and possibly a rug

So in the last week, the room got 2 coats of yellow, then 2 coats of primer, and it now needs 2 coats of gray! Six coats in one week….can anyone beat that?? For your sake, I hope not!

Please check back to see how the gray turns out. Until then, enjoy the rest of your week!

Weekend Bloggy Reading

15 Responses to “No Way in Yell…ow: A Dining Room Update”

  1. Ainhoa December 7, 2011 at 7:01 am #

    I love gray with yellow as well! But I’d rather have neutral (i.e. gray) walls instead of yellow. And yes, isn’t painting ceilings annoying?

  2. Ashley @ Lewis in Love December 7, 2011 at 8:18 am #

    The finished chair rail looks DIVINE. You guys did a great job. I think switching the paint color to grey and then adding the yellow accents is going to be very sophisticated/glam. Can’t wait to see how it comes out!

  3. Brandi @ His Shabby Her Chic December 7, 2011 at 8:55 am #

    Looks great! I love it!!

    Can’t wait to see it painted gray. You are definitely right about the yellow not being quite right.

  4. Ashley@AttemptsAtDomestication December 7, 2011 at 9:38 am #

    The dining room is my favorite room to see wainscoting in. It looks fab! I think the gray walls will be great, especially with yellow accents! I love love love the fabric you used to cover the parsons chair and I actually have a swatch of it at home for inspiration 🙂 Can’t wait to see the plate display!

  5. Krystle @ Color Transformed Family December 7, 2011 at 10:51 am #

    The grey will make the room look very sophisticated. It will also make the yellow in the fabric pop more. I think it will look great. I’ll have to check out how you did the slipcovers. I have some black parson chairs. A touch of color on them might be just what our dining room needs to brighten it up some. Great job!

  6. hfopblog December 7, 2011 at 11:57 am #

    I can’t wait to see they gray!!! I’m obsessed with grays right now. Excited for the pics!

  7. US December 7, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

    Love the wainscotting!! Keep up the great work!

  8. Melanie @ MailboxJourney.Com December 7, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    Love the note you left behind and I can’t wait to see the gray!

  9. Regan @ RenovatingRothenbergers December 7, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

    That gray is going to look awesome with the wainscotting! Great job!

  10. Paula December 7, 2011 at 6:13 pm #

    The wainscotting looks fabulous and I love that you added a secret message! Good luck with you gray color. I’m sure that this time your choice of color will be just right!

  11. Casey December 8, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    We did our living room (that shares a wall with the kitchen) in grey, and our kitchen is “pineapple squeeze” or bright yellow. I think if I had done the big wall in yellow it would have been overwhelming.

    I love the chair rail!

  12. Justine December 9, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

    How did you get that pigeon to pose so nice? This is truely a labor of love! Such a pretty room.

  13. Elle December 9, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

    I love love love the reupholstered white chairs. As for the mishaps on the paint color, this reminded me of one time a long time ago when I did this to my hair, except in red. I was convinced that I wanted these ultra punk red streaks in my hair. Well red I got and it was the biggest mistake to date yet. I lived with it for one day, and went back the next day to correct it immediately. You live, you learn, and you pay dearly for it. But all it matters is that you correct it right away and not live with the headache before deciding that it was afterall not a good fit. I really love grey as paint color.

  14. littlehousebigheart December 9, 2011 at 3:43 pm #

    I love the idea of a mini time capsule! The hubs and I are definitely doing that when we redo our bathroom!

  15. TheChangingHouse December 9, 2011 at 5:16 pm #

    That dining room looks amazing!
    Great job!

Leave a Reply

