Handmade Embellished Frame

4 Dec

Hi!  How was your weekend?  Did you get a lot done?  Christmas shopping or DIY-ing perhaps?  I did a little bit of both (actually a lot of painting-more on that later this week, a little bit of shopping and a teenie bit of crafting).

Today is week 4 ouf 6 of Kim’s Dare to DIY party.

Dare to DIY

Today’s Dare is “give homemade gifts!”

I set out to make a hand embellished photo frame, and here is what I came up with….

Dec4 082

Who doesn’t like a little owl every now and then?

Dec4 084

The frame was simple to make, but the embroidery was a little time consuming.  Here is what I started with:

Dec4 050

I used a frame of cardboard that fit just over the picture frame:

Dec4 056

And a square of burlap larger than the frames (perhaps a different material would have been better-and also more contrast between fabric and floss, but this is my first attempt at making one of these).  Here’s a quick tutorial of the embellishment:

Frame

One:  Cut out fabric larger than the frame.

Two:  Trace the frame so you know your boundaries while creating image.  I used a light pink highlighter so it would not show on the right side.

Three – Nine:  Creating the image with colored floss.  I basically just free handed a pic and tried to make it look similar to my drawing….

Frame2

Ten:  cut out a square of batting and cut and “X” in the center.

Eleven:  Begin to hot glue the batting around the frame.

Twelve:  Finish gluing batting.

Thirteen:  Cut an “X” in the center of the burlap/fabric.

Fourteen:  Glue the burlap/fabric in the same way as the batting.

Fifteen:  Completed back; I added a touch of clear nail polish to the inner corners so the burlap would not shred.

Sixteen:  Hot glue the front of the picture frame to the back of the cardboard frame.

Ta-da!  There you have it.

Dec4 081

Of course you can apply this to any fabric and any frame.  You can make a custom one with a name or whatever floats your boat!

Have you made any Christmas gifts this year?  I think I am going to attempt to make something (possibly eatable)  for my co-workers…we’ll see how that goes!

Check out more fabulous handmade gifts at Newly Woodwards!

Also partying at:

8 Responses to “Handmade Embellished Frame”

  1. Kim@NewlyWoodwards December 4, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

    The owl is too cute! Love this idea and the fact that you can cover any old frame to make it cuter. Thanks asin for linking up this week. Love seeing your projects.

  2. michelle@decorandthedog December 4, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

    I’m a sucker for owls. Cute idea!

  3. Ainhoa December 5, 2011 at 1:55 am #

    It is adorable! Thanks for the inspiration!

  4. Regan @ RenovatingRothenbergers December 5, 2011 at 7:19 am #

    So cute!! And where did you get the owl candle? It’s a hoot!

    • cornerofmain December 5, 2011 at 7:14 pm #

      Ha! Love it. I picked that up at Target this fall…

  5. Brandi @ His Shabby Her Chic December 5, 2011 at 8:42 am #

    That is SO cute!

    My sister asked for owl stuff this year so I might just have to make one of these for her! The owl candle is super cute too.

  6. Diana @ Boy + Girl December 5, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

    Very cute! I love the owl.
    -Diana

  7. Leigh December 5, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

    Hi Kelly- seems we both have a thing for owls. They are a pretty new “thing” for me…there are just so many cute owl items out there. Yours is great. I wish I could do needle point like that. And what a great way to create that puffy frame look. Thanks for your kind words and stopping by my blog too.

Leave a Reply

