A Week Late and a Candle Short

2 Dec

Holy Cow!  It’s December.  Where is the time going?  I didn’t even realize that Advent began last Sunday….oops.  Kevin has asked me to make an Advent wreath a few weeks ago, but I got side tracked by hanging snowflakes from the chandelier and having a pretend dinner party (Crazy? Yes, but you can read about that here).  Both Kevin and myself are Catholic, but I had never had an Advent wreath in our house growing up.  I searched for some images of Advent wreaths to get an idea of what I needed to do.  While they are very meaningful and special, none of them were as “pretty” as I would like…

Advent wreath

Images via, via, and via.

The prefect place for the wreath is on the dining room table, so I took down the snowflakes (sniffle, sniffle) because I didn’t want to catch them on fire.  Here is another look at our dining room table last week:

IMG_7313

And our new Advent wreath as a centerpiece:

Wreath 036

Please ignore the half painted walls and the green painters tape (we are slowly but surely coming along with the dining room redo).

I love my new “prettier” version of the Advent wreath, and it was super simple to make.  I started with this”:

Wreath 001

  • 5 Brass candle holders from a thrift store ($1.29 – $1.99 each)
  • 1 Faux evergreen wreath
  • 3 Purple candles, 1 rose candle, and 1 white candle
  • Ribbon
  • 5 Gold branches (I really only needed 3)
  • Wire & Scissors

First I added the branches to the center of the wreath…

Wreath 007

After I added branches all the way around, I put the candle holders thru the bottom of the wreath (between the 2 wires the wreath was made of):

Wreath 017

When flipped around I had this:

Wreath 030

As well as a ton of glitter EVERYWHERE…

Wreath 014

Next came the final holder with a bow and all the candles….

Wreath 043

What do you think?  Does anyone else use an Advent wreath?  I know calendars are very popular, and I read something about an Advent clock…anyone use those?  I like my little wreath, and I think the meaning behind it is probably better than glittery snowflakes.  I am looking forward to lighting two of the candles this weekend.

On that note, have a lovely weekend!

Linking up to:
Lovely Crafty Home

Fingerprints on the Fridge

Photobucket

The Lettered Cottage
9 Responses to “A Week Late and a Candle Short”

  1. Regan @ RenovatingRothenbergers December 2, 2011 at 7:31 am #

    Oh love the wreath!! We do an advent wreath at my church and it’s always exciting and helps me remember the true meaning of Christmas. Great job 🙂

  2. Brandi @ His Shabby Her Chic December 2, 2011 at 11:35 am #

    I wasn’t sure what an Advent Wreath was at 1st but I remember seeing those younger and always assuming they were just centerpieces.

    Looks great! I’m sad to see the snowflakes go, but gotta keep with the reason for the holiday in the first place.

  3. Ashley @ Lewis in Love December 2, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

    Oh I SO love this. John and I are both Catholic and would love to have something like this in our apartment. I might need to use your tutorial and make us one! Thanks for sharing!!!! 🙂

  4. Dad December 2, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

    Looks great.

  5. mjb December 5, 2011 at 12:50 pm #

    I am happy that you and Kevin are starting a nice tradition of putting Christ back into Christmas:)

  6. Janel Hutton December 6, 2011 at 10:22 am #

    How pretty! I love your version of this! We have yet to do an advent wreath…may just have to try it! Thanks for linking up with Hating Martha!

  7. Ann December 11, 2011 at 4:03 pm #

    Your advent wreath is gorgeous! Thanks for your kind words about my snowflake chandelier. I love yours! It is so beautiful just by itself even without the added snowflakes. Such a lovely home!

  8. Cousin Jacquie December 11, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

    Kel your eye for design is amazing! Totally impressed! Good Job! I love your modern, shabby chic ideas! i had no idea you were that krafty… but I totally dig! Keep up the good work! I’ll keep checkin out your blogs! 🙂

  9. Margaret Henner December 13, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

    K & k…………loved all your decorating and colors. Great job. Merry Christmas
    Aunt Margaret

Leave a Reply

