Paisley Print Checkered Tab Top Curtains

30 Nov

Well, I did it, I finished the bathroom curtain that I was so excited about a few weeks ago.  I guess it has been done for a while, but I haven’t gotten around to showing everyone till now.  My big plan was to use these two fabrics:

IMG_7053

I think the plan worked  Here is what I came up with:

Curtains2 002

I know it’s not super exciting, but it is much better than what we had before:

IMG_7015

I used the old curtain as a guide and made a large rectangle out of the new paisley fabric…

IMG_7181

I hemmed both sides as well as the top, then hung it on the rod to see how long I should make the tabs…

IMG_7194

I more or less eye-balled the tabs.  Basically I made a two really long tubes of the check fabric, turned them right side out and cut them into equal strips.

IMG_7200

IMG_7202

IMG_7210

I attached the tabs at equal spaces along the top (with the sewing machine)…

IMG_7213

Then added some iron on hem tape to the top edge so the tab would not be floppy….

IMG_7222

IMG_7223

At this point I hung the curtain up and did the happy dance because it actually worked!

IMG_7229

After dancing, I pinned the bottom up, hemmed it, and added the final stripe with iron-on tape.

IMG_7235

IMG_7239

And there you have it- Paisley Print Checkered Tab Top Curtains!  Have you made any window treatments for your home?  I think this may be my first attempt at curtains.

Curtains2 002

I just need a few more things for this little powder room to be complete.  Hopefully I can get those completed soon =)  What is on your do-to list?

Have a fabulous Wednesday!!
Weekend Bloggy Reading

Lovely Crafty Home

8 Responses to “Paisley Print Checkered Tab Top Curtains”

  1. Ainhoa November 30, 2011 at 5:53 am #

    I’m jealous of your sewing abilities! Love the curtain.
    On my to-do list is: finish painting the board&batten since I think it’ll need a third coat, and building a drying rack. Hopefully they’ll be done by the end of the week!

  2. Regan @ RenovatingRothenbergers November 30, 2011 at 8:43 am #

    Your curtain turned out great!! I’m so jealous of all you ladies that can sew. I should have paid better attention in HomeEc!

  3. Jenny November 30, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    Oh, how i wish I could sew beauties like these! xo

  4. britt@knewlywifed November 30, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

    Thanks for stopping by my blog today, Kelly! These curtains are unbelievable! I love them, I’m a sucker for paisley print anything! I’m looking at my curtains right now, and seeing lots of possibilities now. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  5. Brandi @ His Shabby Her Chic November 30, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

    I love it!! It’s so perfect for the space!

  6. Krystle @ Color Transformed Family November 30, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

    The curtains turned out great. I keep hearing about this no sew hem tape and think it may be something I need to check out. I don’t sew that much but I might if it made things easier. Thanks for motivating me to hopefully start sewing a little more… once things calm down with a new born.

  7. Justine December 1, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

    The curtains look very nice. I especially like that you used more than one fabric. That definitely made them more decorative!

  8. Renee @ Living, Laughing, & Loving December 4, 2011 at 7:53 pm #

    Beautiful fabric!! I too wish I had some sewing skills!! I really am thinking of taking some sewing classes cuz I would love to be able to sew my own curtains!!! Good for you!

Leave a Reply

