Decorating the Table

20 Nov

Thanksgiving is just days away.  Are you having family and/or friends over?  Kevin and I will be spending the first half of the day at my brother and sister-in-law’s and then we will head to Kevin’s mom and dad’s.  It should be a wonderful day!

Kevin and I have yet to host a holiday in our home; hopefully someday soon!  In the mean time our beautiful china, crystal, and silverware are hiding in the cabinet….

IMG_7276

Do you see another little peek of our new wainscoting here (I showed one pic last week)?  Kevin finished putting it up today, but we still have to patch nail holes and paint, so we will have to wait for the final reveal.  (I also have another slipcover to make for the head chairs, eek).

Even though we aren’t having family over I decided to take on the Dare to DIY challenge over at NewlyWoodards and Kate’s Table Scape Link Party at Centsational Girl, and set the table (well, kind of, I didn’t take out the silverware and napkins).   It was actually kind of fun to look at our beautiful wedding gifts!

Here is what our dining room looked like earlier this evening:

IMG_7268

And now here it is with a little bit of holiday sparkle:

IMG_7311

IMG_7292

IMG_7294

I purchased a $3.99 package of gold snowflake ornaments at WalMart last week (actually for another project that I hope to make soon), and I thought it might look pretty to hang them from the chandelier.  I just love how it turned out (I feel like the photos don’t do this justice, lol).

IMG_7288

All I did was take varying lengths of thread and attach one snowflake to each side, then in hung them over the arms of the chandelier at different heights.

IMG_7313

And for each place setting I set out our china and crystal with a touch of gold print ribbon.

IMG_7301

Now all we need is some company and a delicious meal Winking smile

IMG_7297

Oh and maybe some wine!

Check out all the other holiday tables at NewlyWoodwards and Centsational Girl
Dare to DIY

Weekend Bloggy Reading
Featured At Serenity Now

26 Responses to “Decorating the Table”

  1. Jenna @ Wilsons and Pugs November 20, 2011 at 10:58 pm #

    This turned out adorable. I love the ribbon on the plates. That is such a great idea. Your china looks very similar to ours! We are also not hosting this year. My china will just have to rest up for one more month. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Ainhoa November 21, 2011 at 1:33 am #

    The snowflake ornaments are a great idea! Love the sparkle.

  3. claire November 21, 2011 at 5:21 am #

    soooo pretty and elegant! i love when people hang things like that from a chandelier – makes me want one so bad!

    great job! and your wainscoting is looking good!

  4. Kim@NewlyWoodwards November 21, 2011 at 8:25 am #

    This looks amazing! Totally sparkles! Love the snowflakes from the chandy. I like to hang ornaments from there, too. And the ribbon around the plates? LOVE! It looks so pretty and classy.

    Thanks for linking up to Dare to DIY! I really appreciate it.

  5. Brandi @ His Shabby Her Chic November 21, 2011 at 8:28 am #

    I love the chandelier! What a super creative idea to hang those snowflakes! It makes me really wish I had a chandelier.

    Also, the ribbons on the plates are super duper cute!

  6. Molly @My Happy House November 21, 2011 at 9:25 am #

    I love the snowflakes!

  7. Laurel @ Ducks in a Row November 21, 2011 at 10:34 am #

    I love how sparkly the snowflakes make everything!

  8. Krystle @ Color Transformed Family November 21, 2011 at 11:22 am #

    I live the snowflakes! I might have to try something like this. Like you we don’t get to use our china but I do love setting it out for the holidays to pretend.

  9. karen November 21, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

    I love the snowflakes! We have a similar chandelier over our dining room table and you’ve given me an idea for Christmas! Will just have to keep the cats away.

  10. Caroline November 21, 2011 at 7:38 pm #

    The hanging snowflakes are fantastic! Love it! Great job!

  11. JN November 21, 2011 at 11:33 pm #

    The wainscotting looks marvelous! I love the ribbon you chose for your beautiful china. What a perfect setting. So festive.

  12. rmb November 22, 2011 at 6:50 am #

    That is sooo cute!!!

  13. Regan @ RenovatingRothenbergers November 22, 2011 at 6:57 am #

    Those snowflake ornaments are adorable!!

  14. littlehousebigheart November 22, 2011 at 9:57 am #

    So cute! We’re having Thanksgiving at our house, so I get to break out all the wedding china and stemware! I can’t wait!

  15. alternative eating November 22, 2011 at 10:01 am #

    it looks beautiful 🙂

  16. Real Housewife in MN November 22, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

    I LOVE the gold! The ornaments and ribbon is a great touch. Looks beautiful! Now you just need to have some people over to use all your wonderful things!

  17. SJ @ Homemaker On A Dime November 23, 2011 at 12:20 am #

    That chandy is phenomenal! Love it 🙂

  18. Kristen @ Miss Prissy Paige November 23, 2011 at 12:24 pm #

    I love the gold snowflakes from the chandelier – what a great idea and I love the little bling it adds.

  19. Paula November 24, 2011 at 5:32 am #

    Love your built-in china cabinets. What a great feature to have in a home.

    Your table looks really pretty and I love the snowflakes you have hanging from your chandelier.

  20. Shannon November 27, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

    So many good ideas in just one post! I am totally heading out tomorrow to look for ornaments to hang from our light fixtures. And the bow around the place setting? Adorbs.

  21. US November 29, 2011 at 1:09 pm #

    ooohhh! I love the snowflakes coming from the chandelier!! VERY pretty- have to file that one away for Christmas 😉

  22. Noelle November 30, 2011 at 10:41 am #

    I really like the snowflakes!! So pretty, they look suspended in mid air. I can imagine that is even more beautiful in real life!! Visiting from Centsationalgirl’s tablescape party!

  23. Joy November 30, 2011 at 11:22 am #

    Very pretty! I love the added touch of ribbon wrapped plates.

  24. Kristine November 30, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

    Could you please rip out that corner hutch and UPS it to me? lol I love, love, love it!

    Your snowflakes are a fabulous idea.

  25. Jen December 1, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

    Simpel and pretty 🙂 Love the snowflakes!

  26. Veronica December 23, 2011 at 11:01 pm #

    Hello Kelly! I loved the idea of hanging snowflakes and your tablescape is beautiful! I just featured it on my blog! http://lifeinthethriftylane.blogspot.com/2011/12/friday-night-findschristmas-tablescapes.html

Leave a Reply

