Curtain Fabric!

16 Nov

This post totally needs an exclamation point because I am pretty darn excited about this fabric!  I actually found four that I loved in the store, but once I got home with all four (yes I bought all of them-I was very indecisive in the store) I decided right away.  Have you ever bought way too many of one thing and then returned them or just kept them all?  Keeping them all is definitely more fun.

This weekend I made my way to Hancock Fabrics with my handy dandy room color cards.

IMG_7063

And I came home with 1.5 yards each these four pretty prints (they were, at least, 50% off so I don’t feel too bad):

IMG_7050

I love them all, and I thought for sure the one on the right would be the winner of this race, but the clear winner was the one next to it.  Here are some pics of each hanging on the curtain rod (please ignore the wrinkles)…

IMG_7046

This print was definitely in second place, it looks almost solid from far, but when you get up close you see the tiny check print.  It looks nice with the white woodwork and the stencil wall, so I think it will make it’s way into the room one way or another.

The next one was my least favorite (too dark):

IMG_7040

I thought for sure I would love the one below in the room because the print is similar to the stencil, but not too matchy….I was wrong (perhaps too graphic?).

IMG_7035

This kind of feels like the three bears here.  One was too tiny, one was too dark, one was too graphic…and one was just right!

IMG_7026

Ahh…it’s so pretty.  It matches perfectly and I love the print.

IMG_7030

IMG_7034

My master plan is to make a curtain with this one and the check fabric as an accent.

IMG_7053

Please stop back to see how the finished product looks!

What projects are you working on this week?

8 Responses to “Curtain Fabric!”

  1. Ainhoa November 16, 2011 at 5:22 am #

    I love the fabric you chose. Patterned but still subtle enough that it doesn’t compete with the stencil. Can’t wait to see how it turns out!

  2. Brandi @ His Shabby Her Chic November 16, 2011 at 9:04 am #

    I love the fabric you chose! I had the feeling when I 1st saw the picture of all 4 that that’s the one you would have went with.

    I can’t wait to see how it all turns out, especially incorporating the checked fabric!

  3. Regan @ RenovatingRothenbergers November 16, 2011 at 9:32 am #

    I’m with Brandi – when I saw the first picture I was hoping you’d choose that one! 🙂

  4. Jen Koster November 16, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    Your blog is simply divine! Great job, Kel! Thanks for commenting on my blog yesterday…so glad you were able to check out our new photos. Miss you and love you and hope to catch up soon!

  5. Casey November 16, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

    Agreed! Love the fabric! I am thinking about tackling some curtains soon, so I will be anxiously awaiting your final product!

  6. mb November 16, 2011 at 11:36 pm #

    I believe you inherited my love of fabric stores! The new heading on your blog is creative. Wow you sure know how to get things done and have a fabulous career besides.

  7. Erin @ His and Hers November 17, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

    Fabric overwhelms me! I don’t know why I agonize over things like that, but I do. I love the pattern in the one you chose! 🙂

    And if you don’t need that inmate fabric anymore, then sure, I’ll take it…maybe I can make jail curtains in every room 😉

  8. Krystle @ Color Transformed Family November 17, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

    I love the fabric you chose! i also love the fact that you bought all four fabrics. They look good together and it will be interesting to see how you integrate them.

Leave a Reply

