Giving Thanks

13 Nov

Hi!  Did you enjoy your weekend?  Mine was fantastic.  Saturday my brother and sister-in-law had us and some other friends over for a “Beef Brisket party.”  He spent all day (seriously like 12 hours) smoking a beef brisket in his new smoker, and BBQ-ing ribs.

photo (3)photo (2)

It  was great, and I was glad I wore stretch denim.  Sunday my parents came over, and my dad helped me plan out wainscoting for our dining room.  All the wood has been purchased, but there is a lot of assembly left to do.  Here is a sneak peek:

IMG_7132

More on that when we get closer to completion….

Can you believe Thanksgiving is NEXT WEEK?!  Holy cow.  A couple of weeks ago I said I was going to swap the jack-o-lanterns for turkeys, pilgrims and Indians….well I finally added a little bit of Thanksgiving to our house this weekend with a fall banner.

A few years ago Kevin got me the Cricut die cut machine for my birthday; since I haven’t used it in a while I thought I would bust it out.  Here is what I started with:

circut

IMG_7135

After cutting I was left with a pile of pieces (Kevin polished the dining room table and it looks so nice)….

IMG_7137

that I put together layer by layer….

leaf collage

Then I connected with yarn and hung on our mantel….

IMG_7178

IMG_7162

November is a time to Give Thanks!

IMG_7165

IMG_7166

What are you thankful for?  I am definitely thankful for my loving family (Thank you Rob and Carolyn for feeding us yummy food this weekend,  and Mom and Dad for coming all the way to our home to help!).

Wanna check out more Thanksgiving DIY fun?  I am linking up at Newly Woodwards;  maybe you want to Dare to DIY too….
Dare to DIY

Also partying at:

19 Responses to “Giving Thanks”

  1. Marina {YummyMummyKitchen} November 14, 2011 at 12:29 am #

    This is GORGEOUS! Love it!

  2. Ainhoa November 14, 2011 at 3:10 am #

    It’s times like this that I wish I had a mantle! The garland looks great.

  3. Regan @ RenovatingRothenbergers November 14, 2011 at 7:23 am #

    Love the garland! And I can’t wait to see the wainscoting – it’s looking great!!

  4. Molly @My Happy House November 14, 2011 at 7:39 am #

    I love this different take on the banner idea! I think I need a cricut in my life 🙂 Found you through the Dare to DIY Party! I’d love for you to check out my post too! http://myhappycasa.blogspot.com/2011/11/diy-rustic-thanksigiving-sign.html

  5. Rach @ Mrs-Adventure November 14, 2011 at 7:40 am #

    I’ve wanted a machine soooo bad, I love your letters and of course the layers :o)

  6. Kim@NewlyWoodwards November 14, 2011 at 9:08 am #

    Very cute project on the Cricut! Love the layers, makes it so cute!

    Also, I’m cracking up at ” I was glad I wore stretch denim.” I’ve so been there! 😉

    Thanks for linking up and visiting other blogs. It’s so appreciated. I love seeing all these projects!

  7. hfopblog November 14, 2011 at 9:57 am #

    I can’t wait to see the final diningroom pictures! What color(s) did you decide to go with?

    • cornerofmain November 14, 2011 at 11:07 am #

      Hey Jenny, we decided to go with a very pale yellow on the top and white on the bottom-very bright and cheery.
      Thanks for stopping by!

  8. Jenna @ Wilsons and Pugs November 14, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    This is adorable! I am not hosting Thanksgiving this year so I have slacked on the decor (I am saving my decorating-energy for Xmas). I might just have to make an xmas version. I am in love with my cricut! I have been in the rut of just using triangles to place letters on for a banner….thanks for some inspiration 🙂

  9. Brandi @ His Shabby Her Chic November 14, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

    I have a couple comments today:

    1. Love the new header! Only that would make it better would be a picture of Stewie 🙂
    2. The banner you made is super duper cute. It makes me wish I had a craft cutting machine
    3. Can’t wait to see the wainscotting!!
    4. This ribs are making me hungry…

    • cornerofmain November 15, 2011 at 8:01 pm #

      1. Thanks Brandi!
      2. Agreed, but I didn’t have a good Christmas pic of Stewart. I did however purchase reindeer ears that I will attempt to put on him for Christmas cards (it totally won’t work because he is crazy, but a girl can dream can’t she?)
      3. Me too!!
      4. They were soooo good =)

  10. Erin @ Domestic Adventure November 14, 2011 at 3:01 pm #

    This came out so well! And I love seeing food and wainscotting mixed in. You’re my kind of gal!

  11. Lauren L. November 14, 2011 at 5:03 pm #

    Love this! Although it makes me sad that I do yet have a circuit..

  12. Real Housewife in MN November 14, 2011 at 6:08 pm #

    This looks great! Perfect for Thanksgiving and great for fall! Nice job!

  13. Mindy November 14, 2011 at 6:37 pm #

    Looks great! Love the font that you chose!

  14. Renee @ Living, Laughing, & Loving November 14, 2011 at 7:03 pm #

    Good for you for busting out the cricut! I have the small 6 inch one and it seems like I don’t ever get around to using it enough!

    And WOW does that look like something worthy of stretching out the denim! Mmmm!!

    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog!

  15. michelle@decorandthedog November 14, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    Your mantle looks great!!

  16. Morgan November 15, 2011 at 1:08 pm #

    I love your leaf banner! That is so cute!

  17. Mom November 16, 2011 at 11:29 pm #

    I am thankful that my daughter is so creative!

Leave a Reply

