Banana Cupcakes and Frosting Tip

11 Nov

The other day I got home from work kind of late and Kevin had a wonderful steak dinner waiting (winner winner steak dinner)! After dinner Kevin asked me what was for dessert (like he usually does), and I told him nothing (like I usually do). I decided I was in a baking mood and thought he deserved a nice dessert after making me a great dinner…so I raided our cabinet and found what I figured would make some sort of baked good. I also spotted some mushy bananas in our fruit basket.

Everybody loves cupcakes; doesn’t everybody love bananas too? Well I do, and I wanted to test out combining the two. I googled “banana cupcakes” and the first recipe that popped up was on All Recipes. You can check out the basic info here, but I skipped the baking soda (because I either couldn’t find it or we didn’t have any), and I subbed skim milk for the buttermilk. I am sure they would have been even better if I had those two, but all in all they came out great!

IMG_7117

This also gave me an excuse to use my bright and shiny (it’s sparkly like a bowling ball, and so shiny you can see my Betty-Crocker-self taking a photo of it) Kitchen Aid Mixer =)

IMG_7103

I mixed it all up, put it in the pan, baker, baker, baker (wo) man…

IMG_7099

While they were baking I made the frosting and put it in a baggie:

IMG_7106

20 minutes later we had…

IMG_7108

Yum! Banana-y perfection! I let them cool on a plate for quite a while before frosting (Kevin and I had 1 or 2 while they were still warm).

After enjoying my creation, I cut a small hole in the corner of the frosting baggie…

IMG_7109

I think the easiest way to get pretty cupcakes is the use this baggie method. Squish the frosting thru the hole making one even layer on the cake:

IMG_7111

Then make another layer just in the center of the cake:

IMG_7114

And if you want to get really fancy add some sprinkles. I randomly had yellow sprinkles in the cabinet; how perfect for banana cupcakes!

IMG_7117

Enjoy and have a lovely weekend!

5 Responses to “Banana Cupcakes and Frosting Tip”

  1. Ainhoa November 11, 2011 at 5:21 am #

    These look great! I love the sprinkles 🙂

  2. Ashley @ Lewis in Love November 11, 2011 at 5:32 am #

    That looks awesome! I’ve never tried the plastic baggy tip before! Now you have me craving cupcakes.

  3. Brandi @ His Shabby Her Chic November 11, 2011 at 9:25 am #

    They look delish!

  4. Jenna November 12, 2011 at 11:30 am #

    Yum yum yum! I might just have to try these!!!

  5. Regan @ RenovatingRothenbergers November 12, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

    These look delicious!!

Leave a Reply

