Room Color/Décor Organization

9 Nov

When I am out and about shopping, I am always wondering if a certain room accessory or fabric will go in an existing room .  It is always tricky to “guess” what color or print you have at home.  Some times I pull out my cell phone and actually look at my blog to see photos of our rooms-colors, fabrics, etc.

Recently I came across this idea (from Apartment Therapy via Brandi @ His Shabby Her Chic via Pinterest):

06-30-08-floorplan1.jpg

In this version they even have a floor plan-fabulous idea!  You never know when you are going to find an unbelievable deal on a dresser for your bedroom or hutch for your dining room…but is it going to fit?  That is the question!  Has this even happened to you?  Did it fit or did you have to take it back?

I started my own handy little cards to keep track of it all.  I began with our half bathroom.

First you need to gather your supplies:

IMG_7054

I thought having a picture of my new stencil wall would come in handy (when selecting towels or fabric for the curtains), so I printed out a photo.  I no longer had the actual paint chip from Benjamin Moore and the little bottle of paint obviously did not have a chip, so I decided to paint some cardstock.

First I cut out the photo by tracing the cardstock tag on the backside…

IMG_7056

IMG_7058

Then I taped off two areas on the card stock…

IMG_7059

And painted…

IMG_7060

Then punched holes (why not make it cute with a star?) and added labels…

IMG_7063

I have yet to add dimensions, but this room is so tiny I don’t know if that is necessary.  There is plenty of room on the back for anything I would like to add later.  I need to get a small binder ring to keep them together.  One room down, 8 or 9 to go!

IMG_7066

I am going to take my little cards and search for some curtain fabric!  Stay tuned to see what I come up with.

Until then, have a Happy Wednesday!

6 Responses to “Room Color/Décor Organization”

  1. Ainhoa November 9, 2011 at 5:12 am #

    This is such a great idea! I’ve seen paint chip versions but adding a floor plan with measurements is infinitely more useful!

  2. Ashley @ Lewis in Love November 9, 2011 at 5:43 am #

    Such a good idea. I’m CONSTANTLY forgetting “how yellow” my living room carpet is or “what shade of red” I have in my kitchen, so something like this would come in handy while shopping!

  3. Regan @ RenovatingRothenbergers November 9, 2011 at 8:19 am #

    This is an amazing idea! I need to do this asap. I’m usually that crazy lady at goodwill walking past a piece several times to “feel” if it’ll fit or not.

  4. Brandi @ His Shabby Her Chic November 9, 2011 at 9:12 am #

    You did it!! Awesome!!

    I like how you use a picture of the stencil and actually put the paint color on instead of the chip. I seriously need to get around to doing this!

  5. Colleen November 10, 2011 at 9:11 am #

    Kelly, I love this idea, thanks for sharing it. I really like the star punch, just gives it that extra “wow”… NICE!

  6. Whatever DeeDee Wants November 11, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

    This is brilliant!

Leave a Reply

