And the Winner is…

7 Nov

Metallic Ice Blue!

cupcakesAndTshirt 024

A of couple weeks ago I was testing out paints for the chain-link stencil I purchased for our half bathroom (read more here).   No one  thought I went with the first paint-Metallic Ice Blue, but I did.  Probably because I said I liked the idea of a subtle pearly color.  Kevin actually really liked the blue, and if he had not voted for that one I would have definitely gone with the pearl.   I figured I should take the risk on this one, and I love the results!

IMG_7024

I ended up doing the largest wall in the bathroom which is just opposite the sink and mirror.

IMG_7013

Originally I thought I might do the whole room, but that would have been almost impossible considering all the angles, and it may have been a bit overwhelming.  We didn’t want it to look like crazy wallpaper, so we ended up with one metallic accent wall.

IMG_7014

I probably could have done the stencil in one day, but I did it over the course of two days.  After a while your arm gets a bit tired!  It was worth it though.  The bathroom was a good place to test my stenciling skills.  Now I think I am good enough to someday tackle our living room.  Has anyone stenciled anything lately?  Any plans to do so?

Here is my quick how-to on stenciling:

1.  Lay stencil out on drop cloth or newspaper (make sure you have a large surface covered because the tacky spray gets everywhere), and spray lightly with Tacky Spray.

WallAndStuff 002

Here is the spray I used (not heavy duty spray adhesive, and maybe that is why it worked so well):

cupcakesAndTshirt 017

2. Use a level to hang the first stencil.   Each additional stencil was based on the first, so you do not have to use the level the next time.  I started in the least noticeable corner of the room.  I suppose I could have started in the middle of the wall and worked my way out.  If you are going all the way around the room you want to make sure the seam (where the pattern may not match) is in the least noticeable corner.

WallAndStuff 006

3.  Tap small amounts of paint on with spongy stencil brush-less is more, you can always add more paint!

WallAndStuff 007

Here are the brushes that worked well for me:

cupcakesAndTshirt 016

4.  Repeat, repeat, repeat….

WallAndStuff 024

5.  You may have to go back and touch up either the wall paint or the stencil paint with a tiny brush.

WallAndStuff 021

And that’s it!  Let’s take another look at the before (without the door in the way-we removed it for painting purposes) and after:

WallAndStuff 003

IMG_7014

The room still needs a few things to make it more complete: new window treatment, new storage cabinet, art and towels.   I will just add it to the never ending list!  What is next on your list?

Have a happy Monday!

Weekend Bloggy Reading

25 Responses to “And the Winner is…”

  1. cornerofmain November 7, 2011 at 5:04 am #

    Excellent work!

  2. Ainhoa November 7, 2011 at 5:19 am #

    It turned out great! I love the sheen it has!

  3. Ashley @ Lewis in Love November 7, 2011 at 5:27 am #

    Looks fantastic! It definitely has a subtle “wow” factor. Great job!!

    • cornerofmain November 7, 2011 at 9:46 am #

      Thanks Ashley! Also, thanks for stopping by!

  4. Regan @ RenovatingRothenbergers November 7, 2011 at 7:13 am #

    I love it!!!! 🙂

  5. Brandi @ His Shabby Her Chic November 7, 2011 at 8:35 am #

    I love it! It looks great!! I also really love the color blue with the white in general but the stencil just adds that something extra. Kevin made an awesome pick on the color too!!

    • cornerofmain November 7, 2011 at 9:40 am #

      Thanks Brandi, it was similar to your idea of using a slightly different shade in glossy 🙂

  6. Mandy November 7, 2011 at 10:27 am #

    It turned out beautiful! Great choice on the color also :-).

    • cornerofmain November 7, 2011 at 10:39 am #

      Thanks Mandy! And thanks again for the inspiration =)

  7. Jen November 7, 2011 at 11:51 am #

    it looks so good! i am definitely pinning this! how long did it take you?

    • cornerofmain November 7, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

      Thanks Jen! I would say maybe 5-6 hours? That’s definitely a guess as I took many breaks to do other things =) Thanks for the pin!!

  8. Becky November 7, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

    Kelly, that is gorgeous! I love it so much, nice job.

    • cornerofmain November 7, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

      Thanks Becky! Thanks for stopping by =)

  9. Kristina November 7, 2011 at 9:58 pm #

    Kelly, thanks for stopping by ReMadeSimple today and for your kind comments! I love your chain link stencil and the colors you chose-turned out great! Would like to try something like this someday!

    -Kristina

  10. Maureen @ This (Kinda) Old House November 8, 2011 at 10:16 am #

    First off, this looks amazing!!! I still don’t know that I have the patience for this kind of project. 🙂 Secondly, I just wanted you to know I am passing along the “Versatile Blogger Award” to you! Check out my post about it. Have a great day!
    http://thiskindaoldhouse.com/2011/11/versatile-blogger-award/

  11. Kim@NewlyWoodwards November 8, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

    This looks lovely! Love the subtle metallic.

  12. Jenna @ Wilsons and Pugs November 8, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

    Love Love Love This! It looks amazing. I am trying to think of what room in my house needs a stencil now….

    • cornerofmain November 8, 2011 at 11:13 pm #

      Thanks Jenna! You definitely need to give it a go!

  13. Casey November 8, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

    LOVE how this turned out! I wanted to do something like this as an accent wall in our bedroom, but the Mister is against it. We have been busy trying to cover all the stencils that were painted in our house, and he doesn’t see the difference in this type of stencil and the country flowers that are stenciled now. I’ll show him this and see what he thinks 🙂

    • cornerofmain November 8, 2011 at 11:15 pm #

      Thanks Casey! Kevin was against it also….I kinda bought the stencil without telling him. Ha. His response was I would have to repaint it if it looked bad. Thankfully we love the end result. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  14. Kasandra December 2, 2011 at 8:36 pm #

    Looks so great!! Very nice job indeed.
    I don’t know if I would be able to do a whole wall, my problem is I like instant gratification projects. But we do have a bathroom on the horizon for the basement so we will see!!!

Leave a Reply

