The Stencil has Arrived!

28 Oct

The other day I had a special delivery on our doorstep….the chain link stencil I purchased here.  Yahoo!  I was super excited it got here so fast.

WallAndStuff 001

Last week I said I wanted to stencil our 1/2 bath…

WallAndStuff 004

but I wasn’t sure what color to go with.  I decided to try out a few different acrylic paints from JoAnn’s.   I started by painting a board “Sea View” by Benjamin Moore, and I gathered my supplies.

cupcakesAndTshirt 016

I read quite a few mixed reviews about using spray adhesive on the stencil, so I wanted to test the spray out also.  I bought Aleene’s Tacky Spray from JoAnn’s (with a 50% off iphone app coupon-score!) and a cheap stencil to practice with.  I went with the Tacky Spray instead of an actual spray adhesive because I thought maybe this would be less likely to remove the original paint from the wall (the major complaint from those people that said don’t use a spray).  The Tacky Spray  does say that it is permanent adhesive, but it also says that it is not for heavy duty projects.  The first time I used the little floral stencil on the practice board I loaded up the stencil with spray; this resulted in a gooey residue on the board after I removed the stencil.  I am glad I thought to try it out first!  The residue did rub off the board, but I am not sure that would have worked as well on the actual wall.  I was able to reapply the stencil a couple more times before I re-sprayed it (lightly this time).

Let’s take a look at the four paint samples on the Sea View Blue…

Up first, we have Metallic Ice Blue Folk Art Paint.

cupcakesAndTshirt 024

cupcakesAndTshirt 036

Then we have Metallic Champagne Folk Art.

cupcakesAndTshirt 027

cupcakesAndTshirt 035

Next is Pearl Finish Ceramcoat.

cupcakesAndTshirt 026

cupcakesAndTshirt 037

And Lastly Sparkle Glaze Delta Ceramcoat.

cupcakesAndTshirt 028

cupcakesAndTshirt 038

And here are all four…

cupcakesAndTshirt 033

I was able to eliminate two of them right off the bat; can you guess which two?  I went back and forth about which color to use.  Kevin like one of them and I liked a different one.  It wasn’t until I tacked the actual stencil to the wall that I decided.

WallAndStuff 006

Which one would you choose?  What do you think I went with?

I have only stenciled about 1/2 of the largest wall, and I hope to finish it up sooner than later.  I ran out of paint and unfortunately the JoAnn by our house only had one additional bottle (shoooot)!  Have you ever had to put a project on-hold because you couldn’t find the supplies you needed?  I ended up just ordering 5 more bottles on-line from Hobby Lobby instead of going on a wild goose chase for $2 paint!  Hopefully it arrives soon and we can get this chain linked.

I can’t wait to show off the finished room…until then, have a beautiful weekend (can you believe this is the last weekend in October!!).

8 Responses to “The Stencil has Arrived!”

  1. Ainhoa October 28, 2011 at 7:59 am #

    I like them all! But I think I would pick the one of the right because it looks more subtle, at least in pictures. Either way you can’t go wrong!

  2. Mandy October 28, 2011 at 9:31 am #

    Oh goodness, I have no idea which one you picked! Any of them would look fabulous! Can’t wait to see how it turns out.

  3. Claire October 28, 2011 at 9:44 am #

    that’s going to look soooo good!! i actually like the last one, but not sure how that would look in real life. but either way, i think they all look great.

    (ps – thanks for commenting on my blog – and i’m happy to find yours! i love your stencil idea for my dresser ! )

  4. Brandi @ His Shabby Her Chic October 28, 2011 at 9:52 am #

    I think you went with 1 of the last 2, but I’m pretty sure they would all look great!

    I can’t wait to see how it turns out.

    Also, thanks for opening my eyes on online ordering from Hobby Lobby. I don’t have 1 in the area and this will be a way for me to get their stuff!!

    Have a good weekend!!

  5. Melanie @ Mailbox Journey October 28, 2011 at 2:17 pm #

    I love the last one, the really silver one. I can’t wait to see the bathroom when it’s complete! PS: Adding you to my blogroll links, for sure 🙂

  6. Regan @ RenovatingRothenbergers October 29, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

    I think you went with the pearl finish . . . Looking forward to seeing the results! You really can’t go wrong with any of the colors 🙂

  7. Stephanie@cre8tive October 31, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

    Typical Joann’s. I get so frustrated with them and michaels on their service and stock, frustrating isn’t it? I wish we had a local hobby lobby, I think you went with one of the two in the middle. Can’t wait to see how it turns out.

  8. DIY Addict November 9, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

    Hi Kelly, I like the first one from the right. I also like the stencil. I can’t wait to see the finished half bath. thanks for visiting me and leaving a comment. I really appreciate it. Great Blog you have. Keep it up. see you!

Leave a Reply

