Waiting for the Chain…

19 Oct

The order has been placed and now I am waiting…waiting for my Chain Link Stencil.   I have been wanting to add a stencil somewhere in our house, and I thought our half bath would be just the place.  Earlier this year we painted it Benjamin Moore Sea View Blue.  I love the color, but the room is still kind of boring.

blogJune19 096

I had a hard time deciding which stencil to order.  Eventually I would like to put a damask stencil in our living room, so I wanted to select something different for the powder room.  I hope I like it….if I don’t Kevin already told me I have to repaint the room (he painted it blue the first time).

I haven’t decided what color to do the stencil in.  I can do something metallic like this wall that Courtney did (found via Centsational Girl):

Here is another metallic example from Project Queen (via Pinterest); I like how she used a metallic taupe:

Another option would be just using white, which would be much more graphic and bold.  This entire room from Vintage Revivals is beautiful (you should probably check it out), and the stenciled wall is so cute (found via Pinterest):

Final ERM 4 065

Perhaps more of a tone on tone, like this wall (from etsy.com via Pinterest), would look good:

Pinned Image

I am about 80% sure I will do the more subtle metallic option.  I am thinking about a pearly white or champagne.  I need to get a few options and try them out on a sample board.

What do you think?  Subtle or bold?  Have you stenciled anything?  Any tips for applying the stencil and painting?

Hopefully once the stencil is up I will be more motivated to find a small storage unit for this room and make a new curtain…I have been thinking about doing this for months….and months.   Is there anything you have been meaning to do forever?

Maybe I need to stop typing and start doing!  Have a great Wednesday Smile

14 Responses to “Waiting for the Chain…”

  1. Brandi @ His Shabby Her Chic October 19, 2011 at 8:47 am #

    It’s going to look great!

    Another idea I saw on Pinterest forever ago was just using a high gloss version of the paint color that’s the base. I tried to find the link for you, but no luck. I do know the picture I saw was on a darker wall, so I’m not sure how it would look with brighter walls. You could also go maybe 1 shade darker than you used in a glossier paint.

    Good luck!

    • cornerofmain October 19, 2011 at 9:15 am #

      Hum….thanks Brandi. I am definitely going to test that out also. Whatever I do it has to be very slight otherwise it might look like a circus, lol. Perhaps the shade different in glossy would be perfect!

  2. Ainhoa Vega October 19, 2011 at 9:42 am #

    I’m a big fan of wall stencils with metallic paint – although the room from Vintage Revivals is gorgeous. Can’t wait to see what you end up with!

  3. Maureen @ This (Kinda) Old House October 19, 2011 at 11:01 am #

    I like the metallic look. Especially for a bathroom. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE that color blue! Beautiful bathroom 🙂

  4. Erin October 19, 2011 at 11:34 am #

    I like the subtlety of the metallic paint. I have not tried stenciling. Yet. I keep watching other people do it first:)

  5. Krysta @ Domestic for Dummies October 19, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

    I think subtle is better so people don’t get tripped out while using the loo. Good Luck, can’t wait to see the results!

    • cornerofmain October 19, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

      Ha! Good point 😉 Thanks for stopping by!

  6. Regan @ RenovatingRothenbergers October 20, 2011 at 8:25 am #

    A pearly white metallic would be beautiful! Can’t wait to see the finished results!

  7. Shari October 20, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

    Hi Kelly! I just wanted to let you know that I have awarded you the “Versatile Blogger” award! Here is the link:

    http://www.turnstylevogue.com/2011/10/versatile-blogger-lafavorites.html

    Please pass it on.

    Shari
    turnstylevogue.com

    • cornerofmain October 20, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

      Wow! Thanks Shari =) I will definitely take a look at this and pass it along. I look forward to checking out the link tonight!

  8. Mandy October 20, 2011 at 6:57 pm #

    Hi Kelly – I clicked on a link that Shari had at Turn Style Vogue because I had never visited your blog. I was so excited and surprised to see my stenciled wall that I did in my daughter’s room! I’m so glad that you like it! It turned out to be a beautiful room and you definitely can’t go wrong with a subtle stencil – especially in a small bathroom. Good choice!
    I’m your newest follower and I cannot wait to see how your bathroom turns out!
    Hope you come by and say “hi” sometime.

  9. JN October 21, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

    Love the stencil plan, so much cheaper than wallpaper. I have stencilled before and it takes a little practice, maybe try practicing on some wallboard or other painted surface. 🙂

  10. Jordan@the2seasons October 24, 2011 at 8:43 am #

    I can’t wait to see the finished product. I am thinking about stenciling but do not have the courage yet. Love the color of the room.

Leave a Reply

