The Leaves are Falling…

14 Oct

Fall is in full swing in the Midwest; I think we will be raking a lot of leaves this weekend!

Over the last few weeks we have been preparing for fall inside the house and out, with fall décor everywhere!  One thing I forgot to show off was our festive front porch.  I had mentioned to Kevin last month that I would like to get some orangey-gold potted flowers to put on either side of the front door.  I never got a chance to get any…and to be honest, I have no idea what I am doing when it comes to gardening.  What would be the best plant to get or pot for that matter (definitely Kevin’s department)?

When I left for work one day our front porch looked something like this (plus one pumpkin wreath):

porch

When I came home, I was pleasantly surprised to see our beautiful autumn porch:

FAllDoor copy

Kevin used cornhusks, millet, mums, pumpkins, and our cute little plaster owl (my fav).

outdoorsAndSlipcover 004

I love coming home (for many reasons), but now the front porch makes me smile…I can’t wait to see what Kevin comes up with for Christmas!

Is anyone planning for Christmas yet?  Or better yet, what about Halloween?  Any great costume ideas out there?

Enjoy your weekend!

Partying at:

French Country Cottage

5 Responses to “The Leaves are Falling…”

  1. Brandi @ His Shabby Her Chic October 14, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    I love love love your front porch! The hubs did a fantastic job!

  2. Paula October 15, 2011 at 6:40 am #

    Aren’t you a lucky girl to have a husband who helps with decorating. Please tell him that he did a fabulous job!

    I’m stopping by from Serenity Now.

  3. Regan @ RenovatingRothenbergers October 17, 2011 at 8:34 am #

    I love the little owl statue!

  4. Amanda October 19, 2011 at 9:20 am #

    I seriously love that little owl on your front porch!

  5. Courtney October 20, 2011 at 7:33 pm #

    So charming- your front porch is quite welcoming! Your owl is too cute! Thanks for sharing at Feathered Nest Friday!

Leave a Reply

