Sewing a Slipcover

10 Oct

A while ago I tried to make a slipcover for my Pier 1 Parsons chair (from scratch)…it didn’t work (if you would like to read about that mess, click here).  I really had my heart set on something in yellow and gray to go with the other chairs that I recovered (take a tour of the dining room and see the before pics of the chairs here, here, here, or here…eek that’s a lot of dining room talk)

July52011 109

Pier 1 sells covers, but nothing in yellow and gray.  This one is really cute (now that I am looking at it, maybe I should have just bought two of these….it definitely would have been easier!):

Dana Floral Slipcover

Well, they weren’t selling that one when I originally bought the chairs, so I set out to find my own fabric months ago.  I loved this yellow and gray bird print from Hancock Fabrics:

sewing2 001

After my failed attempt to make the cover without a pattern, I bought this McCall’s one (even though the measurements weren’t the exact size of the Pier 1 chairs):

outdoorsAndSlipcover 115

I decided to go with pattern ‘B’

outdoorsAndSlipcover 117

After hours and hours of work, some pricked fingers, and maybe a couple expletives, I ended up with this:

outdoorsAndSlipcover 099

I love the way it turned out, but wow, this was definitely the most complicated thing I have ever made.  There was a lot of tweaking the pattern to get it to fit the chair better.  The pleats on the corners turned out pretty great (I’m not sayin’, I’m just sayin’).  I thought for sure I would end up making them crooked…

outdoorsAndSlipcover 104

Same goes for the hem and the woven boarder…

outdoorsAndSlipcover 102

I love how the two chair fabrics compliment each other.  It will look soooo much better once we paint and put wainscoting and chair rail up.

outdoorsAndSlipcover 108

Hopefully we will finish this room sooner than later….but first I suppose I have to make the second slipcover Sad smile  Anyone want to do that for me?

Linking up to:

Weekend Bloggy Reading

6 Responses to “Sewing a Slipcover”

  1. mb October 12, 2011 at 1:07 pm #

    Very custom looking. Love the trim you added near the hem.

  2. Brandi @ His Shabby Her Chic October 12, 2011 at 3:42 pm #

    Looks great!! Good luck on the 2nd one. Can’t wait to see how it turns out!

  3. Paula October 15, 2011 at 6:41 am #

    You did a fabulous job and I love your fabric choice!

  4. Krystle @ Color Transformed Family October 15, 2011 at 7:07 am #

    Way to go! I don’t think I am that advanced in the sewing department yet. I do think the two fabrics work well together though.
    Thanks for stopping by yesterday!

  5. pine tree home October 18, 2011 at 2:00 pm #

    HI, thanks for popping by earlier. You have some great stuff here. I laughed because I sewed pillows out of the same fabric. I have a love hate relationship with them. I do adore the fabric, but sometimes the birds just annoy me. Wasn’t their placement weird when you were sewing?

    • cornerofmain October 18, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

      lol, the birds were randomly placed! I had the 5 yards of fabric all over my sunroom as I tried to cut the best piece 😉 Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

