Blogwagon and Sweater Makeover II

10 Oct

Hello!  Happy Monday =)  I can’t believe it has been a week since I have written a post.  Holy moly; I have fallen off the blogwagon!

Image (4)

I know you are REALLY scared impressed by my Photoshop skills, but instead of teaching how not to create your own graphics, today I will be talking about that thrift store sweater again!

I know I have kept you in suspense about what I made that great orange vest into (after I made the sweater pumpkins).  Fear not, I did not hem the arm holes and wear it in public, I instead made this lovely knit throw pillow:

fall 077

I love the way it turned out and it was super easy to make (it was actually sewn by hand)…

I started with the remains of an orange sweater:

bathroom_prints 063

While the orange worked for the pumpkins, I didn’t exactly want an orange throw pillow, so I bought some brown dye.

fall 004

Before I cut the sweater I wanted to dye it so it would not fray (the only thing that had been cut off at this point was the sleeves, and there was a seam right above where they were cut…so no worries about fraying at this point).  The dye was for use in a washing machine, so I gathered my supplies…

fall 006

added them to the machine, ran the cycle, and I ended up with a brown sweater vest!

fall 065

The pillow form I used was 16”x16”…

fall 066

The bottom portion of my sweater was a bit larger than that:

fall 067

I turned the sweater inside out and added a straight line with tape to make the upper seam even…

fall 068

I stitched just below the tape; then cut off the upper portion.  Next I stitched  along the sides (I could have just put a seam in one side, but I wanted the cable pattern centered):

fall 070

I then turned it right side out and put the pillow form inside…

fall 072

I stitched up the bottom seam as neatly as I could…

fall 074

And there you have it!  A knit throw pillow (without knitting or spending a fortune)!

fall 077

I think it looks cute with this owl pillow my mom made for me (how cute is that owl pillow? Thanks Mom!)

fall 079

So with a $2.99 sweater I made.  4 pumpkins (check those out here in the previous post) and a toss pillow.

Come back to Corner of Main later this week…hopefully I am going to share the slipcover I made for our Pier 1 parsons chairs

Smile

Today I am partying at:

3 Responses to “Blogwagon and Sweater Makeover II”

  1. mb October 12, 2011 at 1:05 pm #

    The sweater pillow looks good! I saw a similar one by Ralph Lauren in a magazine. I am sure it was pricey. How energetic of you to go through the process of changing the color. You have inspired me to make one. Excuse me while I go look through my old sweaters to find a future pillow project!

  2. niftythriftygoodwill October 12, 2011 at 11:49 pm #

    such a fun project! and both pillows are so adorable.

  3. Colleen November 6, 2011 at 6:20 am #

    I adore your sweater pillow, it looks super cozy! The colour turned out great! How cute is the Owl pillow from your mom!!? They go together perfectly. Thanks for sharing the “how-to”… now I want to go find a sweater to transform!!

Leave a Reply

