One Mantel and A Plethora of Pumpkins

26 Sep

Welcome back to Corner of Main!

The other day I realized that this year is the first year I actually have a beautiful mantel to decorate for the holidays, and a pretty front door to hang a wreath on when the time comes…oh and a staircase and banister to put greenery on, oh my!   The fun never ends!  It’s not quite time for greenery yet, but it sure is pumpkin-time 🙂

Today we will be seeing a lot of pumpkins…a pumpkin parade of sorts. But first let’s talk mantels.

Ours is in our formal living room (which isn’t exactly very formal with Kevin’s “bachelor pad” sofa and flat screen TV…but someday it will be formal).  Here is a peak at it a few weeks ago, with a lot of random things on the mantel:

Our Living Room

You can see our mishmash of items above the fireplace:  A hand blown glass lamp, a clock with bride and groom teddy bears on top of it, a canvas from our wedding, my wedding bouquet, and two religious statues.  That is quite a combo…teddy bears, flowers and St. Joseph.   None of this was planned, except maybe the photo, until we realized that it was way too small for the space.

This past weekend I found a wonderful mirror at Tuesday Mornings (does anyone else go there?  Do they have them outside of Chicago?) on clearance!  Score!  I bought it, then Kevin and I hung it up right away.  Here it is with some basic pieces that will probably always call the mantel home (a basic ivory ceramic vase, a clock, priest statue passed down in Kevin’s family, and a candelabra):

Simple mantel

Ready for fall!

After a little fall foliage, some candles, an owl and a plethora of pumpkins we have:

All decked out for fall!

Here are some more detailed shots:

Ivory vase and mossy pumpkin

I have to give Kevin credit for this one:

Gourds!

He insisted we purchase those two funny gourds a couple of weeks ago because they looked like swans, then he made them into a heart shape…awwww…what a guy 😉

Now these gourds make me laugh (I will share with you soon how I made them):

Three wild and crazy guys!

Priest statue passed down from Kevin's Grandmother

I love berry garland!

And there you have it!  One mantel and a plethora of pumpkins!

Fall Mantel

Our Fall Mantel 🙂

I am joining in on the “It’s Fall Y’all” Link-up!  Check out all the other fabulous fall mantels over at The Lettered Cottage.

The Lettered Cottage
6 Responses to “One Mantel and A Plethora of Pumpkins”

  1. mb September 26, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

    Love the mantel, the mirror is outstanding!

    • cornerofmain September 27, 2011 at 10:01 am #

      Thank you. I can’t wait for you to see it =)

  2. Michelle @ Sweet Something Designs September 27, 2011 at 5:01 pm #

    Great job! I spy an owl, my fave!

  3. Liz @ Designing Domesticity September 28, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    Great seasonal display. Cute pumpkins!
    A bit of sun for the moment so am about to run outside to do some planting – this weather has been terrible! Thanks for stopping by my blog! liz @ Designing Domesticity

  4. Kim@NewlyWoodwards September 28, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

    This looks so pretty! I need to get on board and get my mantel decorated soon. And I love Tuesday Morning too (I’m in western Illinois). Kind of random but you can find great stuff. That’s where I got my awesome king-sized sheets in a pretty trellis pattern.

  5. Brandi @ His Shabby Her Chic September 29, 2011 at 10:40 am #

    Gorgeous mantel!! I love the fall decor and it makes me jealous that I don’t have a mantel!

Leave a Reply

