What do a riding lawn mower and a solid wood table have in common?

14 Sep

Not a whole lot…except that we found both bargains on Craigslist 🙂  Do you search Craigslist for random items on a regular basis?  I do.  I used to only go on there if I actually needed something in particular, but lately I find myself just searching for anything interesting.

A few weeks back I clicked on the “General” section of Craigslist and started to look down the listings.  I came across a posting for a working riding lawn mower with new battery for $350. Kevin and I live on a 1/2 acre and he has been mowing the lawn with 2 hand-me-down walking mowers from my father.  The walking mowers have been wonderful (you can’t beat free), but it has taken Kevin about 3 hours each week to mow this law:

This is only the backyard!

Needless to say, when I saw the riding mower post I immediately called Kevin.  Thankfully the seller had the mower in a storage unit about 10 minutes from our house.  Kevin ended up having to rent a Home Depot pick-up truck to get it, but I think it was worth the effort considering new riding mowers are so expensive!

Our Craigslist mower

It's even a Craftsman!

No one is happier than Kevin about this thrifty find!

A happy husband =)

And the other Craigslist treasure was a beautiful end table we picked up last night:

Wooden end table

Wow.  I love that table (and the lamp)!  We have been searching for a pretty little table for quite some time.  I bought Kevin the Tiffany inspired lamp for Christmas last year and it has been sitting on the floor in our bedroom for the last nine months.  It is so great to finally see it on and displayed in our front window.   The end table was listed on Craigslist this past weekend for $75.  Once again, the seller was pretty close to our house so it worked out perfectly!

Detailed legs

The wood is in great condition...

We really wanted a table that complimented the fabulous lamp and I am glad we succeeded for under $100.  A new end table at this price probably would have been made of particle board and wood veneer (which I certainly own my fair share of, but this lamp deserved a solid wood home).  🙂

What treasures have you found on Craigslist?  Are there any other websites out there that you like to “shop” at?

Check out more fabulous finds and see where I am partying @:

Chic on a Shoestring Decorating
2 Responses to “What do a riding lawn mower and a solid wood table have in common?”

  1. Courtney September 16, 2011 at 10:57 am #

    Wow- your yard is gorgeous and loving that little table!! A treasure for sure! I host a link party on the weekends if you would like to come share sometime! 🙂

    • cornerofmain September 16, 2011 at 11:37 am #

      Thanks Courtney! I shared a link just now =)

Leave a Reply

