Favorite Things

31 Aug

Today I am partying with Kate and all the others at Centsational Girl, where the topic is favorite things in my town.

favorite things link party button

Seven months ago Kevin and I moved from a city of 9.5 million, to a town of 19,000.   Our new little town is so lovely; I almost don’t miss the big city.

Here is my simple list of my favorite things so far:

  • Every Sunday in the summer we have a farmers market where we can buy fresh veggies, flowers and dairy products from near by farmers.  Do you have a farmers market in your town?

Farmers Market

  • Every Wednesday night we have a classic car show that draws quite the crowd.  It is just a couple blocks from our house and gives us something to do during the boring work week!

Cary Cruise Night Banner

  • Our home is also just a couple blocks from the train that can take us to the big busy city (for work or when I am missing it)

Train stop

  • We have THE BEST burger place for miles and miles called ‘Tracks.’  The menu is quite extensive; they offer over 20 gourmet burgers and various other bar fare.  It is hands down the best burger I have ever had; better than a little place in Chicago called Kumas Corner (which was actually on Diners Drive-Ins and Dives, and has also been featured in other TV shows and magazines).  You need to get to Tracks early or there will be a wait…but the wait is worth it!  Where have you had a great burger?  Or maybe a fantastic hot dog?

Gourmet Burgers

All of the above images were taken from cary.patch.com

  • My very favorite thing in our town is the beautiful old homes.  Our street has many historic homes, but surely my favorite is ours:

    Our little piece of Americana...

That’s all I got after just 7 months here.   I am sure next year I will be able to think of a few more!

Before you go back to Centsational Girl, check out my post about being a tourist in your own town, where Kevin and I went back to visit Chicago a few weeks ago!

9 Responses to “Favorite Things”

  1. jennifer juniper August 31, 2011 at 7:04 am #

    It sounds like 20 kinds of burgers is right up my alley!

  2. Amanda @ Serenity Now August 31, 2011 at 11:13 am #

    Hi, Kelly! I loved reading about your town. We have a Farmer’s Market too. I haven’t been in ages, but I need to go before the summer ends. Tracks sounds like the perfect eatery! Visiting from Centsational Girl’s Hometown linky. Hope you’ll stop by my blog too. 🙂

  3. Jo-Anna August 31, 2011 at 1:41 pm #

    Looks like a really nice place to be (your home is especially lovely!)! I’d love to check out that burger joint!

  4. Erin @ His and Hers August 31, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    Farmers markets are the best, aren’t they? I also live in a tiny town and love it. The peace and quiet is definitely worth not being within spitting distance of an Olive Garden. (I think.) 🙂

  5. Centsational Girl September 1, 2011 at 1:31 am #

    Hi there Kelly, I’m so happy for you! There’s nothing like the simplicity and charm of small town life, bravo for finding bliss there, and yes, having a Farmer’s Market is simply the best!!
    xo
    Kate

    • cornerofmain September 1, 2011 at 8:48 am #

      Thank you so much Kate! Your link-up was fun! I love being able to read about everyone’s hometowns 🙂

  6. Ade@fortheloveofpainting September 1, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

    Hi from for the love of painting…thanks for visiting my site. I love the pics of your town…don’t you wish you could visit every place in America!

  7. mb September 5, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

    Love your country lifestyle, bet your doggie loves it too!

    • cornerofmain September 5, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

      Yes he does, and he hopes to have an auntie to play with soon.

Leave a Reply

