Re-purposed Decoupage Nightstand

29 Aug

Hi there!  Today I have a quick an easy update I did to a modular shelf unit to make it more like a custom nightstand.  As I said last week, I am trying to make the guest room a little more inviting (on somewhat of a time crunch).   Here is another look at the room:

Black bed guest room

Our Guest Room

On the left we have an old white shelf unit…I honestly have no idea where it came from…was it mine?  Kevin’s?  My moms?  Who knows.  I suppose it is ours now, so I decided to give it a new  life for the guest room.  I was going to buy a second Ikea nightstand (like the one on the right), but I decided to spend less than $10 on supplies and makeover the shelf instead!

Here is a closer look at the shelf unit after I cleaned it out and moved it into the craft room (this might be the first actual project that I did in the room-o-crafts):

White shelf unit

Plain shelf....and Stewie getting in the way!

You remember Stewie, right? I introduced the little guy here.   All he wanted to do while I was trying to decoupage was sit on my lap.  I finally had to give up and made him leave the room.

First I took the shelves out of the unit and gathered my supplies.

empty shelf unit

No more shelves

Decoupage supplies

What you need...

Basically, what we have here is:

  1. Decoupage paste
  2. Scrapbook paper (this was a higher quality/thicker paper that was in clearance for 18 cents a sheet-score!)
  3. Yardstick for measuring shelves and paper
  4. Paper cutter to get a nice straight edge
  5. Foam brushes
  6. An old box/cardboard/drop cloth so you don’t decoupage your hardwood floors or table on accident!
And here is the visual step-by-step:

Measure Shelf

Cut paper to exact size

Brush paste on back of paper

Place on shelf, then brush with more paste (on top and along edges/sides)

Try to smooth out the bubbles as best you can.  I used the yard stick to really press the bubbles out.  There were some bubbles still there, but once it dried they seemed to go away.

Repeat with all shelves or any over surface you want to cover.

I also added paper to the inside back of the unit in the same manner...

Done!

The seams look a bit sloppy here, but once the paste dried it looked much better.  I was also able to put the shelves along the seams, so that helped!

And there she is!

And here she is in her new home:

Not bad for about $8 worth of supplies!

I plan on adding a bedside lamp and filling the shelves with books, towels, and possibly some toiletries to make our guests feel at home.

I think it looks cute, and you could do this to a larger unit.  There are so many scrapbook papers out there so you could really get creative.

What weekend project did you work on?  Kevin and I were pretty busy…we finally got a riding lawn mower (for our 1/2 acre), so he had fun with that (I don’t know if he would call it fun, but I am sure it was better than the walking mower that took him 3 hours to mow with).  I also started to paint our bathroom…finally!  Hopefully next week I can show you all how great it is (hopefully).

Here’s to hoping; enjoy your day!

3 Responses to “Re-purposed Decoupage Nightstand”

  1. Krystle @ Color Transformed Family October 26, 2011 at 7:41 am #

    This turned out really cute! Such an inexpensive way to add a little color. I’ll have to keep this in mind… I don’t think I would have thought to use a ruler to smoother everything out.

  2. Melanie @ Mailbox Journey October 27, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    How cute!

    • cornerofmain October 27, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

      Thanks Melanie! And thank you for popping in at Corner of Main =)

Leave a Reply

