Look What They Made!

26 Aug

When I was a kid I loved to make things (not much has changed).   Some of my favorite creations were part of a line of jewelry my friend Liz and I made in junior high.  We called it “KeLiz Kollection,” which, you must admit was a pretty great name.   Most of our “jewelry” was that weird plastic stuff that you melted in water and squished into a shape with your fingers (leaving gross finger prints on the finished product).  At the time we thought we would make the big bucks…I am pretty sure we did not sell any to anyone, but it was definitely fun to do.   “KeLiz Kollection” actually made a come back a few years ago (sans weird plastic), but this time we only wore the creations and/or gave them to friends as gifts. 🙂

At an early age I would always show my parents anything I drew/crafted and exclaim: “look what I made!”   While I still use the phrase quite frequently to this day, today I would like to share some cool things that I found on the world-wide web/blog world/TV, and I think you need to check them all out!

So here is the first edition of Look What They Made!

1.  Tabletop garden over at The Inspired Room:

via The Inspired Room

How cute is that little bitty garden?  I think I need to get Kevin to help me make one (he is the real gardener in the family)

2.  Shabby Chic’d card catalog  (via Dittle Dattle) at The Frosted Gardner:

BEFORE via the Frosted Gardner

AFTER via The Frosted Gardner

Why can’t I actually find one of these old pieces to finish myself?  I love it.  I have no idea what I would put in there, but I am sure I could fill it up…

3.  Meredith’s hand painted Michelle Armas inspired canvas at Welcome to Heardmont:

MH Painting

MH Painting via Welcome to Heardmont

It turned out great!  I actually like hers better than the original…is that bad?  Now I want to try to paint something for our guest bedroom.

4.  Wall of lanterns done by Meg on HGTV’s Design Star:

via HGTV

As the judge’s pointed out, she did hang it crooked, but what a cool idea!  Anyone else think Kellie should have gone home for her poor “locker room” bedroom?

Did anyone else out there find anything cooler?  Thoughts?  Anyone?  Anyone?  Bueller?

Have a lovely weekend (the last weekend of August!  eek)

6 Responses to “Look What They Made!”

  1. Pattie August 26, 2011 at 2:02 pm #

    Love the little table garden! Much cuter than a bunch of pots sitting around :p

  2. melissa @ the inspired room August 29, 2011 at 11:38 pm #

    Thank you for sharing my tabletop garden!! 🙂

    • cornerofmain August 29, 2011 at 11:42 pm #

      It is so cute! Thank you for checking out my blog 🙂

  3. Meredith @ Welcome to Heardmont August 30, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

    Thanks for linking up my painting, Kelly! I love all the projects you shared!!

    • cornerofmain August 30, 2011 at 7:50 pm #

      Thanks for the inspiration Meredith and for checking out my blog today!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Look What They Made 2 « Home - October 21, 2011

    […] to Corner of Main’s second installment of Look What They Made.  You can see the first one here.  I have had a lot of spare time this week to peruse the blog world and scope out some pretty […]

Leave a Reply

