All Night Flea Market and Vintage Postcards

22 Aug

Who knew that you could peruse a flea market at 3 AM or that postcard postage in 1910 was 1 cent?

This weekend Kevin and I (along with my parents, brother, sister-in-law, and nephew) went to an all night flea market.  The massive market is apparently one of the top ten flea markets in America according to Discovery Channel.  It ran from 4 PM Saturday night to 4 AM Sunday morning.  Armed with our flash lights we went at about 8 PM, just as it was getting dark…why go to an all night event during day light?

Half of the market was outdoors (excuse the blurry cell phone pics):

All night flea market Wheaton

Shopping in the dark

And the other half was inside:

all night flea market Wheaton IL

Yes, the Incredible Hulk was there!

It was pretty crowded inside once it started to rain, but a good time was had by all.  My 6 year-old nephew loves old street/tin signs; my brother was able to pick up a couple of those to add to his collection.  Kevin and I were looking for an end table to display a Tiffany inspired lamp I got him for Christmas, but we didn’t see anything we loved.  We did find a booth with the worlds largest postcard collection…I don’ t know if this man had the largest collection, but it sure seemed like it.  I think he said he had over 2 tons of postcards!?  He had them organized by location and/or topic.  We had fun looking through a few of his boxes.  The best one was this card from 1910:

Holy Name Cathedral

Holy Name Church, Chicago

Kevin and I got married at Holy Name (now called Holy Name Cathedral) almost one year ago, so this card has a special meaning to us. Check out more about our wedding here…you can see us on the front steps of that same church.  This Vintage card was mailed over 101 years ago!  It is post marked Jan 20, 1910, and the stamp was just one cent.

Vintage Postcard

Backside of card

In case you can not read sideways, that says “Chicago Jan 19/10, I am coming home Sat. night so come to town after me.  Brother Mike.”  Someone wrote in pencil over the original name for some reason; I think it originally said “Walter” then someone wrote “Mary”…dunno what that’s all about.  And for some reason the man selling the card put the price ($3) in the corner.  My favorite part is that the recipient does not have an address other than the town, Lemont, Ill…times have changed!   In 100 years the postage has only gone up 28 cents to mail a postcard; that’s not too bad, is it?

At the same booth, we found one other card we ended up taking home.  While most people won’t find this one interesting, I certainly do:

Vintage Spectacle Card

It is from a spectacle company in Chicago from 1923.

Backside of card

Apparently all you had to do was send this card to the company with your name, age, and address, and they would send you a pair of glasses guaranteed to work!  Lol…this is awesome considering I went to school for 8 years to learn how to prescribe eyeglasses (among other things).  My how times have changed!

So, a couple of signs and a couple of postcards were all that my family took home from the all night flea market, but I think it was worth the trip.

Check out how the cards look now that I framed them:

Framed vintage postcard

Holy Name Church

I did not want to put any tape on the card, so I added photo corners to a piece of coordinating card stock.  I selected a vintage-like frame for the church print, and for the specs card I picked something more rustic:

vintage eyeglass postcard

Mail Order Specs Anyone?

I did not want to block the print on the glasses card so I opted for no photo corners and a smaller frame.  I am really happy with how they turned out.  Hopefully I can find the perfect place to hang them…most likely they will end up in the sunroom =)

What did you do this weekend?

Check out Amaze Me Monday over at Dittle Dattle and Life Made Lovely Monday at Life Made Lovely:


One Response to “All Night Flea Market and Vintage Postcards”

  1. Kim@NewlyWoodwards August 22, 2011 at 11:26 am #

    Those are so cool! And what a fun flea market. Looked like a great turnout, too.

Leave a Reply

