I think I have DADD…

17 Aug

Yes, DADD.  No, I am not a father; I think I have Decorators Attention Deficit Disorder.   Basically, I can’t focus on just one room…I seem to want to redecorate every room in our whole house, all at once.  Kevin and I said we would completely finish one room before moving to the next.  We have failed miserably at doing this.

We started with the master bedroom, which is not quite done, but I did make some progress on styling it today.  I was searching high and low for some art to go above the bed.

It looks a little empty above the bed...

The first item I purchased a few months ago ended up going back.  It was branch like metal art…kinda hard to describe, but similar to this:

Metal Branch wall art from amazon.com

I did not take a photo of it, but I think it was too big.  The next piece I bought was a red-ish wood carving from Hobby Lobby, and it was so small:

Ha! That looks funny...too tiny!

I actually like it, but not there.  I may get another one and put them above the nightstands.  Perhaps the third time is the charm, because the third piece I bought seems to be just right:

horizontal wall art above bed

The perfect fit!

Right now the canvas is just sitting on the headboard, but I will definitely hang it higher.  Because the walls are made of plaster, I am really hesitant to put any holes in them until I am absolutely certain the room is the way that I want it.  Has anyone out there hung pictures with those sticky hooks that do not damage your wall?  Maybe I can do that, otherwise I think I am going to move forward and put some nails in the wall…gulp.

In the above pic you can also see the accent pillow I made and a coral colored king quilt I scored on clearance at Home Goods.

I made some other additions to the room.  First lets look at the dresser before:

dresser

Lonely dresser

And now, not so lonely:

Kevin's dresser

I also need to hang this canvas on the wall, but I think it fits well here.  I added some books, two crosses (one was Kevin’s, the other from Hobby Lobby), a little elephant, faux orchid, and a small tray to hold Kevin’s watches.

Here is a look at Kevin’s nightstand before a few accessories:

"nightstands"

Empty nightstand and lamp...

And now:

Not so empty nightstand and lamp!

Next to the lamp is a dragon statue that I was going to paint red…but for now it is orange.  Let’s take a better look at the lower part:

Cute!

I love that little geisha doll; ain’t see a cutie?  She is actually a bank that I got today at the dollar store.  I also added two thrift store books, and a Superman tin that was a recent birthday gift for Kevin.

I have been looking for a nice floor lamp for a while now.  I wanted something that complimented the silver lamps, but I did not really want to get stainless steel.  I found the perfect lamp at (a new store in the Chicagoland area) Gordmans:

Our new floor lamp

The square shade is similar to the silver lamps and the base is a similar color to the bed and dressers.  I still need to get rid of those chairs, but all in due time!  My plan is to add a large floor mirror and one comfy chair to this corner and ditch the modern gray chairs.

So, the bedroom is “To Be Continued.”  In the mean time, I have been working on the dining room, sunroom, bathroom, and now the guest room (which we can look at later).  I can’t focus!  We are going to have our first house guest in less than one month so the guest room and bath need to be spruced up ASAP.   Hopefully we will finish something (anything) soon!

6 Responses to “I think I have DADD…”

  1. mb August 23, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

    Your new floor lamp looks good, I can see that as being a nice reading corner, cozy and quiet!

  2. stephanie@cre8tive August 27, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

    Oh my gosh, I just typed this long comment and it deleted it. UGH! I hope this one goes through.

    I think we all have DADD, especially now with Pinterest right? I want to change my decor daily now. I would suggest using the 3-M hooks for hanging your canvas. It won’t leave a hole in your wall and you can take it down easily to change out your decor. I really like the velcro ones.

    The guest room ceiling fan would be awesome if you painted it white and got some inexpensive shades from lampsplus.com I did this to a ceiling fan at my daughter’s house and it was easy to do with some blue tape and a can of spray. I also pinned on Pinterest someone who painted cheveron stripes on the blades, so cool. You could do any design though.

    Thanks so much for leaving a comment on my blog today, I love to check out new blogs that have the same interest in DIY projects and design.
    Stephanie

    • cornerofmain August 27, 2011 at 10:54 pm #

      Thank you Stephanie! I think I will try those 3M hooks; I thought about it, but I think you are right! I am may also do the fan idea…unless I take it down and do something cuter (the husband said that would be ok! yippee!) =)

  3. Katie September 28, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

    Hi there! Thanks for stopping by my Master Bedroom mood board last week @ Making It Too Perfect.

    I just checked out your bedroom posts. Your space looks incredible – so serene and peaceful. The orchid is beautiful and I love your bedding.

    I have hung a lot of artwork using the Command velcro strips. I highly recommend it. I hate patching and repairing walls when I take things down. So much work. Follow the instructions carefully on the velcro strips and you won’t have any idea there was ever anything hanging there! I took down an entire gallery wall before staging my house to put on the market and there’s not a hint of the wall now!

    • cornerofmain October 6, 2011 at 10:02 am #

      Thanks for stopping by Katie 🙂 I will check out those velcro strips. I tried the sticky hooks (which I probably did not do correctly/didn’t wait long enough for the hook to set), and the picture came falling down. I may just drill some holes because I would hate for that picture to come a tumblin’ down while we are sleeping!! lol

      • Katie October 6, 2011 at 10:18 am #

        Kelly, be sure to read the instructions. I had a similar experience then my husband (who is much more detail oriented than I am) read the directions and it said to wash the area of the wall with rubbing alcohol beforehand. When he did that we had no more problems. Hope it works out!

Leave a Reply

