I am a Crafty Beaver!

27 Jul

Yes, it is official, I have joined the Crafty Beavers.

Crafty Beaver Chicago

Crafty Beaver logo

What is that, you may ask yourself?  Well it is a group of amazing young women that meet once a month for charity, crafting, creativity, cocktails and conversation!  Read more about the group and how crafty creator, Kyra Phee, came up with the genius idea here.   Last night I went to my first “Crafty Beavers Chicago” meeting where the motto is “making arts to fill our hearts!”  My cousin invited me to join this fabulous group, and I am so glad that I went.   Basically everyone meets at a bar/restaurant and pays a small fee.  Together you make a craft, eat, drink and socialize; proceeds go to a charity of the groups choosing.  Last night we made scented bath salts and a sugar body scrub.  I regret not taking more photos, but good ‘ol Martha made some bath salts here…

bath salts

via Marth Stewart

These little jars would make wonderful gifts and they were so easy to make.  All you need to do is gather your supplies and get mixin’!

Supplies:

  • Cute jars with air tight lids (Walmart has some inexpensive ones, or you can use some recycled ones)
  • Epsom salt and/or sea salt
  • Baking soda (optional)
  • Essential oils (you can find these on various on-line retailers and they come in tons of scents.  Last night I made lemongrass scented salts which I am pretty excited about because I just looked up the benefits of lemongrass and the endless list includes:  analgesic-like properties and the ability to fight cellulite-HA!  We’ll see about that second one!)
  • Food coloring (optional)
  • Sugar
  • Vanilla extract
  • Olive oil

Mix it up!

For the bath salts:  Add about one cup of salt to your jar, mix in one tsp of baking soda (optional), then add 3-4 drops of oil.  If you would like colored salts, add a few drops of food coloring, then mix.  That’s it!  Done!  Go take a bath, or screw the lid on tight and give it to someone who could use a relaxing spa-like escape!

For the sugar scrub:  Add about one cup of sugar to your jar, stir in some olive oil (I eyeballed this-add and stir until it is the constancy you like, then add a touch more because it may dry up a bit), then add a teaspoon or two of the vanilla extract.  Stir it up and start scrubbing!  Could that be any easier?

Vanilla Sugar Scrub and Lemongrass Bath Salts

I found quite a few recipes for homemade salts and scrubs out there.  Check out this link I found for  Tip Junkie’s list of 14 different scrubs!  They all make me want to go relax in the bath =)

I hope everyone had a relaxing day!

Leave a Reply

