1/2 thrift 1/2 knit Pouf

20 Jul

Today was the Pouf-a-long and I just finished my pouf!  Nothing like waiting till the last-minute.  My excuse is last week’s power outage and all the birthday fun put me a bit behind in the crafting department.  Check out Welcome to Heardmont, It’s Great to be Home, and Newly Woodwards for other poufs!

This was probably my favorite pouf when checking out ones on-line:

CB2 Knitted Pouf...how cute is that?

I used that CB2 ones as my inspiration, and without further adieu….

knitted pouf

MY POUF!

I should probably back up and explain how I constructed this knitted masterpiece (actually half of it may be crocheted, but I am not sure).    A week or so ago I took a trip to the local Salvation Army in search of pouf making materials. I was actually looking for some old knitted sweaters that I could transform, but I came across this cute little blanket…and for $3 it had me at hello:

green and white blanket

Hello Green Blankie

I decided to transform this into my pouf with a little extra yarn and creativity.  I set off to JoAnn and picked up some apple green yarn.  I wasn’t exactly sure if the blanket was crocheted or knit.  I started using a crochet hook, but I am not very good with those so I gave up and went with the knitting needles.  I casted on loops all the way down one of the long sides of the blanket with a circular needle.  This was one big experiment.  I was hoping to make a perfect circle, but I couldn’t get the stitches right.  Because I am semi type A, I may actually take my pouf apart and start the top over again…but for now I will tell you how I did this one.

So….I knitted in the round along the length of the blanket and decreased by one stitch each row (I found out after hours of knitting that this was not enough decreasing and I should have decreased 5 or 6 per row probably).

knitted pouf

The opening is starting to get smaller...

knitted pouf

After more rows it is ready to be closed...

When the size looked to be about right, I sewed up the loops and cinched it up.  Next I stitched the side seam and filled ‘er up!

I used 3 toss pillows and some polyester filling

I stitched up the bottom and now have a pouf!

knitted pouf

Pouf in my Office/Craft Room

knitted pouf

Top 'o' the pouf

Success!

It’s a touch lumpy so I may open it up (remake the top) and stuff it with something better, but like I said, it works for now!

So, what do you think of my 1/2 Thrift 1/2 Knit pouf?

14 Responses to “1/2 thrift 1/2 knit Pouf”

  1. Meredith @ Welcome to Heardmont July 21, 2011 at 7:47 am #

    Awesome job on your pouf Kelly! I love that you used that blanket from the thrift store to start out. I bet that saved a LOT of time. The stripes are great too – way to go!
    Thanks for partying with us,
    Meredith

    • cornerofmain July 21, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

      Thanks for the open invite; it was fun 😉

  2. Liz @ It's Great To Be Home July 21, 2011 at 7:59 am #

    I LOVE this!!! What a great idea, and I’m super impressed by your knitting skills. The end result is so cute and unique. I’m so glad you joined the Pouf-A-Long!

    • cornerofmain July 21, 2011 at 4:17 pm #

      Thanks Liz. I am glad I was able to find out about it! And thanks for the open invite to the Pouf-a-Long!

  3. foodyarnstuff July 21, 2011 at 8:19 am #

    That’s a great re-purposing – and cute too!

  4. Lisa @ Cozy Condo Living July 21, 2011 at 8:55 am #

    How creative are you? I love that you were able to reuse an old blanket. I had the same problem with lumpiness in my pouf, but I figured it gives it some character. 🙂

    • cornerofmain July 21, 2011 at 4:18 pm #

      Lol…good point on the character thing! It’s homey 😉

  5. Kim@NewlyWoodwards July 21, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

    Oh.my.gosh! It’s amazing! I thought you knitted that entire thing yourself and was just about to die. But the fact that you repurposed? AMAZING! It looks so darn good. Way to go, you!

    Thanks for linking up, too!

    • cornerofmain July 21, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

      Thanks Kim. Thanks for the invite to link it up! The Pouf-a-long was fun!

  6. mb July 21, 2011 at 1:04 pm #

    You could start a show, things to make from salvation army discards! Your pouf is whimsical! It looks comfy.

    mb

  7. Stephanie August 22, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

    What a cool idea! i love that you repurposed a thrifted blanket. The colours are fantastic. Love it!

  8. mia August 23, 2011 at 12:26 am #

    that is super cool.

Leave a Reply

