Tomato Trees and Eggplant pizzas

26 Jun

The other day at our local produce store eggplants were on sale for something crazy…like 39 cents a pound.  Not that I track the prices of eggplant, but that sounded like a good deal (is it??).  I picked up two decent sized ones and have decided to make a pizza of sorts for dinner tonight.  A few months back I had seen something similar on TV (I believe it was on Hungry Girl…she has a website and now a television show where she makes healthy meals).   I searched her site and she had some similar ideas, but I made my own version.   Because I really did not want to go grocery shopping today I tried to use items we already had at home.  Unfortunately our tomato tree only has a few tiny green tomatoes, but it does have a decent amount of basil (who knew basil grows on tomato trees? lol).  I told everyone about our Topsy Turvy Tomato Tree a few days ago here, but take a look at the impressive before and after pics of the tree:

Before

After

Mini green tomato

Basil before I stole some for the pizza =)

I am happy to see that we are able to grow food out of a plastic bag!  Too bad the tree isn’t growing mozzarella…we could have a nice caprese salad, or at least some cheese for the pizza!  Speaking of pizza, here is what I came up with:

Ingredients:

2 Eggplants

1-15 oz can Pizza sauce (or you can use a combo of tomato sauce and paste and add Italian seasonings)

Pizza toppings (tonight I am making green pepper & onion and fresh basil)

olive oil (or spray oil)

garlic salt (I could probably add garlic salt to everything)

shredded cheese (regular or low fat mozzarella would probably make the most sense, but like I said I don’t feel like going to the store so I am going to use whatever we have in the fridge)

Ingredients

Let’s get cookin’!

Heat oven to 425.

Slice Eggplant into 1/2″ thick pieces

Line a cookie sheet with tin foil, lay slices of eggplant on cookie sheet and lightly brush with olive oil (or spray)

Check out that brush!

I definitely did not have to take a photo of this, but I love that brush…my mom got me him a few years ago 😉

Sprinkle with Garlic salt (to your liking)

Put in oven for about 12 minutes (or until eggplant is a bit softer)

If you are putting fresh veggies on pizza, dice them now, and heat a pan with oil (or spray).  Add veggies to pan and cook till tender.

Remove eggplant from oven, top with sauce, cheese, & toppings

Put back in oven and cook till cheese is melted and pizza looks good enough to eat (probably about 10 min)!

eggplant pizza

A healthy alternative to pizza!

It was pretty good, and Kevin even enjoyed it also!

Leave a Reply

