Summer dinner party & DIY napkin holder

20 Jun

This past weekend I invited a group of friends over for a casual “summer/housewarming/it’s been a while since we have seen each other” dinner party.   I wanted to set the table with some bright and fun settings.  How cute are these for a dinner party:

"Summer table setting pink"

Taken from CountryLiving.com

"summer table setting lemon yellow"

Taken from CountryLiving.com

"summer table setting bright colors"

Taken from CountryLiving.com

Our everyday dishes are a bright green, so I found some complementing napkins at Marshalls (if I had enough time I definitely would have just made some-how easy would it be to hem four sides of a square?).  I also found some bright blue and yellow straw placemats at Marshalls, as well as some bright citronella candles to put in vases I already had.  To bring it all together I did have time to make some cheery napkin holders.  I am pretty happy with the end result:

"bright summer place setting"

My Bright Summer Place Setting

"Colorful Place Setting"

Another View

"DIY Napkin holder"

Better view of the DIY napkin holder

Making the napkin holders was quite simple.  I was able to make 8 of them with 4 strands of inexpensive beads from Hobby Lobby.  The beads ranged in price from $3.99-$4.99 per strand and were on sale last week for 50% off, yippee!  So the total was less than $9.  I already had 28 gauge wire at home, as well as jewelry pliers (which you don’t exactly need, but it helps to pull the wire tight).

"DIY napkin holders"

Supplies (I also had one additional string of butterfly beads)

I put one butterfly in the center and added 4 random beads on either side, then knotted the wired, crimped in tight and pushed it into one of the beads.  Then voila!

"DIY napkin rings"

Butterfly rings =)

I regret not taking more photos of the actual dinner party (I just took the above pics…alone in my backyard…and it started to rain as I was finishing up, but you get the idea!) Anywho…the party was a success: I even think all the husbands enjoyed themselves.  Everyone left full and happy!  Here is a peak at our menu:

Shrimp and Avocado Appetizers

"shrimp appetizers"

For Starters

A cheese course (this was inspired by centsational girl’s post about cheese that you can read here).  I don’t think I followed the rules, but I tried!  The biggest hit was a Sugar and Nut glazed Brie…yum!   We had nuts, crackers, apples and pears to pair with the cheeses.

"cheese course"

My attempt at a Cheese Course

Alcoholic and non-alcoholic sangria

Baby greens with pears, nuts and parmesan

Grilled Pork with fresh berry compote with asparagus, onions, and potatoes

And the grand finale was a chilled french apple dessert.  Speaking of which, there is still some left over that I think I need to eat now!  =)

3 Responses to “Summer dinner party & DIY napkin holder”

  1. Leslie June 20, 2011 at 8:35 pm #

    The dinner, appetizers, and decorations were perfect! You did a wonderful time, and wish we could have stayed longer! You and Kevin threw a wonderful party! Thanks for having us!

  2. Marilynn June 21, 2011 at 2:32 pm #

    Hi Kelly, I just loved the butterfly napkin holders and the menu was positively gourmet. Your writings about everything are fun to read and humorous. This is just like a magazine!

  3. trish Meyers November 9, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

    Yes Kelly! Thank you again for the dinner party! The food was fabulous! I loved getting the tour of your home. Love your backyard! I actually had a dream about your backyard last night!

Leave a Reply

